We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, expensive bakery treats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamane Street Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mamane Street Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Waimea
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Malolo Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful, expensive bakery treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you're looking on Mamane Street in Honokaa for this bakery, you'll never find it. It moved years ago to Waimea and it sits off the street behind some other buildings on Mamalahoa Hwy. My favorite treat is the bran muffin. Such a non-descript name for such a luscious honey-dripping delight! They're $3 each. Stop by before they close at 2 pm for a treat to snack on while driving down the Hamakua coastline. By the way...don't miss the drive. You'll see Waipio Valley, Laupahoehoe Point, Akaka Falls, and if you're the least bit adventurous, you'll get off the beaten path and see our real Hawaii.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nature_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mamane Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I come to The Big Island annually and Mamane Bakery is the first place I head to after settling in....Banana Bread, bran muffins, chocolate chip/macadamia nut cookies all amazing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“best ever bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We actually first had products from Mamane treet Bakery in Kona. The bear claw, cranberry bar, danish and muffins were amazing! We are extremely picky when it comes to our bakery, but we loved what we purchased so much that we extracted the name of the bakery from the coffee shop and drove almost an hour in search of this bakery. I believe the hours are 7:30 a.m. - 2:00, but do not quote me on it. Call ahead of time to make sure that the effort ensures a prize or two. Tip: on the other side of the road (north?) from the Starbucks and, going towards Hilo, before the Shell Gas station. It's set in the back a little. Look for the "bakery" sandwich board by the street. I am not sure if you can eat inside, or not since we missed the open hours.....so sad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SedonaMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty Bran/Nut Muffins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Started the day off right, unreal muffins! First customer int he door and they were still pulling items from the ovens...great smell, clean, and friendly staff!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightningpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamane Street Bakery also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mamane Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing