We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem at the end of the road”

The Fish and The Hog
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hawaiian, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem at the end of the road”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food with fresh salads and fish. Most things like dressings and sauces are made from scratch. Great price...2 can eat with drinks under $50. We ate here 3 times on our visit :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mascarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    104
    23
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“It's all about the great Food, Service and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's not easy to find a restaurant that's real in Hawaii ... The Fish and the Hog is a wonderful place to enjoy really good food, great service, affordable prices. We like to sit at the bar - it's cozy and we talk story with other locals. GO here before you go to Merrimans!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ReallyHawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mahi Mahi was the freshest and cooked to perfection.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa condos and took off to see the volcano. Decided to do the complete circle of the island and by the time we hit Waimea, we were really hungry. We had no idea where to eat but saw the sign and went in. We were greeted warmly and seated. We ordered a mohito and a Mai tai. Bartender came over to make sure we liked them. I ordered the fish and chips and husband ordered the Mahi Mahi which was the catch of the day. What a meal! They know how to cook fish. It was wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brookshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent thanksgiving dinner!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family lives in the area and we visited for thanksgiving since there were 11 of us, it was decided that we would have thanksgiving dinner out. My sister- in- law met with the owners of the restaurant several days before and had everything pre-ordered. The meal started with a Caesar salad, Waldorf salad,poki,cream of mushroom soup,creamed eggs,corn souffle, garlic potatoes,green beans and carrots and stuffing ,turkey and gravy topped off with pumpkin pie. Every plate was of gourmet quality. The service was excellent and the owner/ chef came to our table to assure everything was satisfactory. I don't know what their regular menu consists of but if it anything like the meal we had you can't go wrong. There was also a celebrity and her family of 12 at the table next to us and we received the same quality service. I would recommend this place.
Give it a try.. It is a very casual place and doesn't look like much from the outside..

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaaloa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“She's ba-a-a-ack!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I read about Huli Sue's in TripAdvisor last year, and made a point to visit it when my brother and sister-in-law were here last year. But things had changed back in October '11. The place had closed for re-modeling. When it re-opened, it still had the Huli Sue's sign out front, but there was no "Sampler" on the menu. The wait staff explained that the restaurant was now owned by Chef Allen, and the menu was totally different. On a later trip through Waimea, I noticed that the name had changed to "Allen's Table". A bit later, there was a new sign out: "The Fish & The Hog". When a friend came for a visit from California last month, we decided to drop in there to try it out. It turns out that the original owner of Huli Sue's had gotten the restaurant back and was adding seafood to the menu, hence the new name. She said she planned to add "a.k.a. Huli Sue's" to the sign to try to bring back the old clientele. My friend and I shared the Sampler, and tested both kinds of the BBQ sauce. The sauces are very similar, but the "paniolo" is less sweet and perhaps the best BBQ sauce we've ever had. Although the Sampler left us with a full feeling, I remember the old reviews of the banana cream pie and was determined to try it out. We were appalled by the huge size of the piece served. We should have left half of it behind, but it was SO delicious, we kept at it until it was all gone. Since we shared one entree and one dessert, the bill came out to less than $20 apiece for a spectacular meal. My friend is coming back around Christmas and we'll DEFINITELY be returning to The Fish & The Hog.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish and The Hog also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Fish and The Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing