We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in the Big Island!”
Review of Makai Hale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makai Hale
Ranked #2 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must stay in the Big Island!”
Reviewed December 15, 2010

I'm not sure it's correct to call Makai Hale a bed & breakfast because doing so implies that it is larger than it is. I think this would be more aptly called a "guest house with breakfast" because the other reviewers are absolutely correct - you are completely by yourself! The guest quarters are completely separate from the main house and you never see or hear Audrey or Jerry or anyone for that matter (we spoke more to the security guard at the front gate than to Audrey!). So it's a pretty romantic location.

If you are a couple, you'll get the main room that fronts the jacuzzi and the ocean. The views are breathtaking - you're up on a hill and oversee the whole bay. It's great to wake up to and have breakfast watching the water. Apparently later in December you can see whales, but we were too early. If you're with family or another couple, there is another spacious room at the back of the guest quarters and they have a bathroom too, it's just not adjoining. There is a kitchenette with a fridge that Audrey stocks for you with milk (2%), juice, a water bottle and some fruit. She also stocks a great pantry (with everything neatly boxed so not to attract bugs) with snacks and silverware. There is a microwave and a coffee pot, but no sink (that would be a great addition).

The place is completely spotless and Audrey's breakfasts are great (she asks if you have any allergies). As another reviewer mentioned, they all come with a plate of fruit and the fruit is so good! The only complaint we had was that the fridge makes a really loud humming noise. But if you close the door to the bedroom and turn on the ceiling fan, you can hardly hear it (I am sensitive to noise, though, and it didn't bother my husband as much). Also as a warning, the room does get quite warm in the afternoon sun, although cools off very quickly once the sun sets. So you really only want A/C for like 1-2 hours, but if you're not planning to be in the room then, or you're okay with hanging outdoors in the pool or jacuzzi, you should be fine. One more note, Audrey does tend to leave the breakfasts out for you quite early (she'll put the fruit in the fridge and cover the breakfast plates with saran wrap) so you need to be okay with microwaving your food (it's usually eggs of some sort, one morning we received an egg mcmuffin-type of sandwich and the other morning sunny side up with fried rice, yum!).

It's a bit pricey, but you'll totally feel at home! Oh and the pictures on the website are completely accurate!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LMC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Why stay at the resorts just south of here when you can stay here and it's all your own? And for much less money!
We used the beach chairs and mats and spent a few hours at Hapuna Beach, but it was hot - the sand was almost unbearable to walk on. We came back here to our own private resort where the heat was much more tolerable - 500' elevation makes a difference - the breeze and pool were the cure we needed. The only thing that would make this place better is an air conditioner. The rooms are nice, clean, but simple.
As far as food in the area - there is a Cafe Pesto location in Kawaihe. Their main location is in Hilo and we ate at both - both excellent food. Audrey's breakfasts were delicious. I wish I had known there was a mini-fridge - threw out a lot of perishables before coming here from the previous stop on our trip.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smiles_for_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

There isn't much that I can add to the superlatives in the other reviews. Extremely relaxing, fabulous views, excellent breakfasts, nice room, and a really kind hostess. The only disagreement I have with other reviews relates to eating options - the restaurants in the nearest town (Kawaihae) are lousy. The food is way over-priced, poorly done, and you get to eat it while looking at a view consisting of oil storage tanks and a cement factory. But Makai Hale makes up for it. And there are some nice places to eat in Kapauu, although it's a little far and most places are open only for lunch. We paid $150/night at Makai Hale (I think it's an off-season rate). Definitely recommended.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mizuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful place, this is it! My wife & I spent two nights there in late-May of 2010 & really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. There's a pool & jacuzzi for your use. The owners live in the house (on the other side of the pool) but, if it weren't for the delicious meals that Audrey left us in the morning, we would have never known that they were there. There is a kitchen area with snacks, fridge and coffeemaker. The bathrooms look brand new; in fact, the whole building looked fairly new. There's a great back porch for taking a book and mindlessly gazing out at the Pacific Ocean (a few hundred feet below). Also great for bird and cat watching. The neighborhood is residential and very spread out. You can drive down to the Mauna Kea resort and use their white sand beach (about a 15 minute drive away). There are also some really good restaurants about 5 minutes away. There is a back way out to Kahola Mountain Road. It's about 30 minutes north of the Kona airport. It's a very romantic and family-friendly place for those looking to get away from the crowds!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 7JoePublic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was our 10th visit, and we've loved every one. Fantastic scenery, wonderful hosts,
privacy, solitude, sumptuous breakfasts---Makai Hale has it all. We're already salivating about our next return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearshape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Highly recommended for couples and families (or even a solo traveler like me) who wants to have a relaxed, quiet, and private time in a family ran B&B in North Kohala. Located inside a gated community, it sits on the slope of a mountain slope which overlooks the Pacific Ocean. Humpback whales were always around during my 2 nights' stay in March. The breakfast, served in local way, was very sumptuous and delicious. And...hospitality of the host, Audrey and Jerry, is just so wonderful. Come experience the true aloha:)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mo_mahalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Makai Hale at Kohala Ranch is an incredible alternative to the resort hotels, shopping centers, and the hordes of stressed-out tourists just 20-30 minutes away on the Kohala/Kona Coast. After all, isn't a vacation supposed to help you relax and get away from stress?

The bed and breakfast is located in a gated community. The lots in this community are large and tiered so there is little obstruction of one's view. The B&B wing is separate from the hosts' home which is in a different wing. Both are connected by a covered walkway. There is a stunning, sweeping view of the ocean from the main bedrooom, lanai, pool, and hot tub. Kona sunsets are legendary. Kohala Ranch is up the road from Kona, but we think their sunsets are just as spectacular.

We found the room to be very comfortable and clean. The channels available on the cable TV were greater than offered in most local hotels. The hosts, Audrey and Jerry, are warm, friendly, and inviting. Our breakfasts were a delight. There was fresh fruit with every breakfast, along with different breakfast items every day. (We LOVE the papayas and pineapple.) Audrey prepares the breakfasts every morning and very quietly leaves it in the entry area around 7a.m. If you're already awake, great! If not, the fruit plate is placed in the refrigerator, and the rest of the breakfast fare awaits your awakening.

There is a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker available. There is no hot plate or stove. It's not a condominium. The small refrigerator is stocked with juice, milk and water and ground coffee. Sugar and creamora, tea, small boxes of cereal, breakfast bars, and a few other items for snacks are also available in the cupboards. There are utensils, beverage cups, plates, corkscrews, etc. available if you choose to prepare a quick snack or dinner. There are a couple of boogie boards, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use. (And you are not charged an additional fee to use them, as you are in the resort hotels.)

Reservations are for one party at at time whether it is a couple or a family. Your party will be the only one there! (Yippee!! No forced socializing with other b&b guests!) Audrey and Jerry will be in their separate wing and provide their guests with as much privacy as they wish. There are two bedrooms available, and I think that the beds can sleep a total of 5.

Great beaches are just a few minutes away. Options for dining are many and varied. There are menus for many local restaurants in the nightstand. Our favorites were the Bamboo Restaurant in Hawi, and Cafe Pesto in Kawaihae.

This is a wonderful base from which to explore most of the island. After a full day of exploring or beach-bumming, it's a quiet and relaxing place to spend your evenings and nights. We had vog for most of our stay, but that just made for even more colorful sunsets! We didn't see too many whales, but we didn't spend much time looking for them, either.

We'll be back - again, and again. Mahalo, Audrey and Jerry. You made us feel like 'ohana. A hui hou.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MoneyforCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
6.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
8.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.2 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Hale

Property: Makai Hale
Address: 59-411 Pupu Pl, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing