We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encore, Encore”
Review of Makai Hale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makai Hale
Ranked #2 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was our 10th visit, and we've loved every one. Fantastic scenery, wonderful hosts,
privacy, solitude, sumptuous breakfasts---Makai Hale has it all. We're already salivating about our next return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pearshape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Makai Hale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

Highly recommended for couples and families (or even a solo traveler like me) who wants to have a relaxed, quiet, and private time in a family ran B&B in North Kohala. Located inside a gated community, it sits on the slope of a mountain slope which overlooks the Pacific Ocean. Humpback whales were always around during my 2 nights' stay in March. The breakfast, served in local way, was very sumptuous and delicious. And...hospitality of the host, Audrey and Jerry, is just so wonderful. Come experience the true aloha:)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mo_mahalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Makai Hale at Kohala Ranch is an incredible alternative to the resort hotels, shopping centers, and the hordes of stressed-out tourists just 20-30 minutes away on the Kohala/Kona Coast. After all, isn't a vacation supposed to help you relax and get away from stress?

The bed and breakfast is located in a gated community. The lots in this community are large and tiered so there is little obstruction of one's view. The B&B wing is separate from the hosts' home which is in a different wing. Both are connected by a covered walkway. There is a stunning, sweeping view of the ocean from the main bedrooom, lanai, pool, and hot tub. Kona sunsets are legendary. Kohala Ranch is up the road from Kona, but we think their sunsets are just as spectacular.

We found the room to be very comfortable and clean. The channels available on the cable TV were greater than offered in most local hotels. The hosts, Audrey and Jerry, are warm, friendly, and inviting. Our breakfasts were a delight. There was fresh fruit with every breakfast, along with different breakfast items every day. (We LOVE the papayas and pineapple.) Audrey prepares the breakfasts every morning and very quietly leaves it in the entry area around 7a.m. If you're already awake, great! If not, the fruit plate is placed in the refrigerator, and the rest of the breakfast fare awaits your awakening.

There is a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker available. There is no hot plate or stove. It's not a condominium. The small refrigerator is stocked with juice, milk and water and ground coffee. Sugar and creamora, tea, small boxes of cereal, breakfast bars, and a few other items for snacks are also available in the cupboards. There are utensils, beverage cups, plates, corkscrews, etc. available if you choose to prepare a quick snack or dinner. There are a couple of boogie boards, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas for guests to use. (And you are not charged an additional fee to use them, as you are in the resort hotels.)

Reservations are for one party at at time whether it is a couple or a family. Your party will be the only one there! (Yippee!! No forced socializing with other b&b guests!) Audrey and Jerry will be in their separate wing and provide their guests with as much privacy as they wish. There are two bedrooms available, and I think that the beds can sleep a total of 5.

Great beaches are just a few minutes away. Options for dining are many and varied. There are menus for many local restaurants in the nightstand. Our favorites were the Bamboo Restaurant in Hawi, and Cafe Pesto in Kawaihae.

This is a wonderful base from which to explore most of the island. After a full day of exploring or beach-bumming, it's a quiet and relaxing place to spend your evenings and nights. We had vog for most of our stay, but that just made for even more colorful sunsets! We didn't see too many whales, but we didn't spend much time looking for them, either.

We'll be back - again, and again. Mahalo, Audrey and Jerry. You made us feel like 'ohana. A hui hou.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MoneyforCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Perfect place for a couple or family. Having private access to a pool and spa was the best. Clean rooms. She has a selection of beach stuff (Chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc) for you to use. Has a place to hang your wet clothes and towels. A fantastic view of the whales jumping out of the water. About 500 ft of elevation and normally a cool breeze and cool evenings for better sleeping. Audrey and Jerry brings the most wonderful plate of fresh fruit every morning and a real breakfast, not the rolls and butter but eggs, bacon, pancakes, french toast etc. Audrey and Jerry stay away if you want but we love taling with them. The best restaurants are close up the hill in Waimea, North to Hawi and at the harbor in Kawaihae. Ignore the blue book that gives a bad rating to the Seafood bar, a great watering hole and good pupus. It takes about 1 hour to get to Kona, not bad. Waikaloa is about 20 min away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jfott2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

If there is any bad reviews on this place, don't listen to them! We looked at the reviews when we booked and thought..OK?!! But this is the most relaxing place to stay! Has very clean rooms that are fresh and relaxing. We did'nt have time to go in the swimming pool, but they had just cleaned it and do every week!! We went in the hot tub and it was very nice and hot! The most amazing view of the ocean from your bed when you wake up! The only complaint I would have is that you would have to heat up the breakfast because it was cold. The house keeper would drop it off since she had to do some work. The fruit was very tasy since it was fresh. She has cute little coconut trees and grows fruit! She also has boogie boards, floaties, chairs, umbrellas, and beach towels in each room she let us borrow for the day! Very quiet also!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breeze13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed at Makai Hale in October 2008. We had a wonderful time there and we definitely hope to return in the future. The location and view were so beautiful! We loved sitting out on our lanai in the mornings to eat our breakfast. Audrey brought a delicious breakfast each morning to our rooms which included fresh fruit and an entree. The area in which the bed and breåkfast is located is a beautiful, very private gated community. You felt away from the city but you were close to Kona, Kamuela, and the activities on the north part of the island. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It was the best one we have ever stayed at. The rooms were well-decorated in a Hawåiian motif and were very comfortable ånd clean. The pool and jacuzzi area was very nice and Audrey and Jerry gave us complete privacy. You need to visit this bed and breakfast if you are visiting on the Kona side of the Big Island.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank westerntrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Located on a hill on the Kona side of the Big Island (Hawaii) with an incredible "180" view of the ocean (as far as the eye can see), peaceful, private. Hot tub, swimming pool, 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. About 1/2 hr north of Kona airport. Delicious breakfast always includes fresh fruit. TV (Dish) in both rooms. Restaurants and shopping areas close by. Very reasonable rates. We'll be returning at least once a year. Renewing... a genuine vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MELON68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
6.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.2 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
10.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Hale

Address: 59-411 Pupu Pl, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing