We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in for sure sample the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Island Brewhaus

Big Island Brewhaus
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stop in for sure sample the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Had tried many beers and everyone was amazing. Even the types of beer that do not usually agree with me were delicious. Truly a place for family and a great overall environment. We will be bringing our friends. Ps. mahalo for making our visit memorable and setting us up stocked for the road! We lava the Brewhaus!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalLiaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    182
    39
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great local beers with island flavor!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

They do brew fantastic beers. The food is just good, not great, I have tried 5 or 6 different meals & there is always lots of cabbage involved. Skip the jalapeño burger, it is a Mexican restaurant after all. Something else I love, is hot is actually really spicy! Okole Maluna!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sokonahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
348 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Have a craft beer while your clothes dry.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Travelers, the only laundromat in the area is across the street from this independent micro brewery, so have a craft beer while your clothes are drying. Dump your clothes at the Waimea Washeteria and step across the street for a great craft beer. I did not eat but the menu was very enticing focusing on Mexican entries.... when I get my fill of island food, I will definitely stop in here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The ipa is delicious.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I saw lots of reviews about the service being slow, and it was not the most efficient but it was good. I have had ipa in many micro breweries on the mainland and this one is very comparable. Holy hopimus I think the name was. The food was also very good. Big portions and everything was flavorful. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackdaniels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Poor service spoils the great beer!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

While this micro brewery has some of the finest brew in the islands, it is 'almost' all for not by the poor service each visit (10+ visits in last 12 months). Typical visit goes like this: enter and walk up to have mason jars filled with beer, wait 5 min at the counter before someone says are you being helped. Ask for the masons to be filled, almost 15 min later as I am watching my beer sit there, nothing is done, I ask to top them off and another girl pull a different tap and tops off my Pau Hana...WTF! It was sitting under the tap it originated from...finally at about the 20 min mark I am pissed I finally push the polite envelope and say, can I get my dam beer please...
One of the all time poor service events was watching a waitress deliver food to a table and witness another waitress bogart/steal a fry or 3 off the platter (DIP IT IN THE SAUCE) and eat it as it was leaving the kitchen....unreal.
We love the beer, but this place needs a training session in customer service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightningpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Brewhaus also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing