We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super beer - thanks for the shirt and growler!!”

Big Island Brewhaus
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super beer - thanks for the shirt and growler!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just stopped by here today after a trip to Waipio valley and had a great experience. The wait staff was both friendly and super attentive. We had eaten not soon before so we did not order much, but what we did get was decent. The beer was A+++. I would get the sampler if I were you. It's a great value. It's a very cool little spot that we will now be making an anual trip to.
Thanks for the great service gals!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    192
    47
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brewery visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We asked the locals where to go for fish tacos and got this recommendation. The beer was greatot - I had a Red Velvet- a smooth red ale. The mexican food was good not memorable. I would go back and would like to try more of the beers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
329 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Go For The Beer!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Evidently Tako Taco is now the Big Island Brewhaus. I did a review for Tako Taco but my conclusions are the same - go for the beer not the food unless you like psuedo Mexican food of low quality. The beer is high quality craft beer and we will return for more. This was our third visit (twice in 2012).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
380 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Highest Brewery in the state”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Big Island Brewhaus is a nice addition to a town with amazing, great food. Mexican fare, with a distinctive island influence, includes fish like Vera Cruz style Mexican, hot like TexMex and all the usual fare (chile relleno, buritos, enchiladas...). The beer is the reason to go. There are styles all over the map, from pilsners and Belgian Style to porters and pale ales. They even have a sampler-that you pick the samples! All I can saw is wow, nice job. About $10-15 for entrees, and a nice happy hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great People. Great Beer.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Go for the White Mountain Porter. Slight taste of coconut and kona coffee in a smooth dark porter. So ono, brah!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Island Brewhaus also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing