We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, fresh sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aka Sushi

Aka Sushi
Ranked #28 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kamuela
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, fresh sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Everytime I go in there the food is perfect. The walls are nearly bare and they usually don't have music playing so the atmosphere is a little weird but the food is excellent!!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Truly fresh, generously portioned sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stumbled upon AKA sushi on a recent trip to the Big Island. We're from Seattle where there are plenty of sushi restaurants but AKA was the best sushi we've ever had, anywhere. The portions were generous, too, and the service was friendly. We enjoyed it so much that we went back two more times, lunch and dinner. The second night they were very busy and the wait was a bit long but the staff kept an eye on us and kept us posted on how much time we'd wait. We didn't expect to find a sushi restaurant that rated 5-stars but AKA hit the mark each time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRandoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
1 review
“My favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place got sushi right. Amazing fish and perfect ratio of rice to fish in the rolls. Great miso, too. I go here probably once every two weeks. Incredibly affordable as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mm72986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Sai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have only been in the area for two days and have already visited twice! with plans for a third shortly. We went on the recommendation of our B&B owner and were amazed at the quality. By far the best sushi we have ever had, at a very reasonable price. We have been to sushi restaurants and paid much much more for not even close a quality. If you are looking for amazing sushi come here! Don't come looking for atmosphere but expect to have good sushi and not leave with an empty wallet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Melts in your mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Once I asked where is the best sushi in Waimea. The reply was just one word. Aka. I had never eaten at Aka Sushi prior to last night. I came in once before just to have a look see. But last night I actually tried some of their sushi and was instantly sold! The sashimi melted in my mouth! Sayonara Genki Sushi! Konnichiwa Aka Sushi!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tanyujie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aka Sushi also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing