We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop for a shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anuenue Ice Cream

Anuenue Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stop for a shave ice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Came here 3 times during our visit - great stop if you're getting fish @ Da Fish House, or lunch at the Lunch Wagon or Kohala Burger. Didn't try the ice cream - people may say it's great, but I can't get real shave ice at home, and this place had tons of syrups. My wife likes the azuki beans - neither of us upgraded to a snow cap yet. My wife tried Li Hing Mui (asian salty plum) the first time, I had half that / half lillikoi the 2nd time (I love passion fruit), and all Li Hing Mui the 3rd time, so definitely give it a try if it's available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_JohnnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    11
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good place to cool down on a hot day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

It's a small shop and the line can be long at time. My family went there several times. Excellent li hing mui flavor shaved ice and kona coffee ice cream. It's a cash only so make sure that you have enough money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ptn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Refreshing and so many flavors to chose from for shaved ice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across this after visiting hapuna beach for a shaved ice. Can get as many as 3 flavors mixed together for 3 dollars only has one size and only takes cash. Basically a hole in the wall in a shopping center only one bench to sit on to eat ice treat. Guy shaved the ice right in front of us we had pineapple guava and mango very tasty plenty of syrup not like last reviewers comments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecurranrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent Ice Cream. The flavors are awesome and unique. One caution, my 9 yo son got the Mexican Chocolate. It is a great chocolate if you love chocolate, but there is a subtle spice in the flavor that is probably great for adults, but not so much for kids???

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ej8903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I love shave ice and I wanted to stop here on the way back from Havi. The shave ice was only average and the portion smaller than most. What made this experience even worse was the attitude of the guy behind the counter. This guy was the only jerk I ran into during my 2 week visit.......and he was the owner. Judging from the posters on his door, he's trying to sell his two island homes along with the shave ice stand and leave the island. Hopefully, the new owner will have more Aloha.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gr8yt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anuenue Ice Cream also viewed

 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
Kawaihae, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Anuenue Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing