We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Godsend Beach for Families with Small Children”
Review of Spencer Beach Park

Spencer Beach Park
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kamloops
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Godsend Beach for Families with Small Children”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My father took us to to this beach in Waimea after taking us to another just south of here a ways...This was a shorter walk to the beach from parking. Paved roads (rental cars cannot be off roaded), NO FEES. Plenty of shade and picnic tables during the week. Nice facilities/Bathrooms/Showers. etc. NO waves. Water was too murky for me to snorkel (I like to SEE the shark coming hahaha) Jk! But you can snorkel if you are into that for sure...may have been clearer further out, I wasn't brave enough...there were plenty of fish very close in though. The sand is more yellow, but still soft, very little rock. Very kid friendly for sure. We would go back to this one...after Kua Bay though! This is one to relax on parents...as there are NO waves to wash the little ones off!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLakeLiving4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    72
    25
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beach on beautiful days”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We chose this beach because of the facilities (clean bathrooms are a godsend!). Not to mention that it's not very crowded, and has plenty of shade on too hot days. The water was nice and calm, perfect for my then 3-year-old son. Definitely the kind of beach to just hang out and enjoy the weather and the locals, and dip your feet. A great spot to just relax.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BeezPulelehua27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
640 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

What we liked was the facilities - lits of picnic tables, shade and nice clean bathrooms and showers. OK clean beach that had been dragged to remove the monthly jellyfish swarm. Not crowded, but not very exciting either. Lots of campers around.

Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Family friendly beach”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to Spencer Beach for a family reunion. The ocean was nice with not many big waves. The beach was perfect to dig and play in. It has nice facilities. We went on a Sunday, and it looked like there were a lot of other families having reunions. Spencer beach also has nice shaded area where we grilled and ate.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small beach lots of locals”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Not a swim beach. More like a hang out with the locals. Beware of some people that live here more than just a weekend. Check out the shark and whale watch area near by.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kickithilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer Beach Park also viewed

Puako, Kohala Coast
Island of Hawaii, HI
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Spencer Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing