We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Waimea

“Sumptuous variety, PRICEY!”
Review of Red Water Cafe

Red Water Cafe
Ranked #7 of 78 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a True Farm to Fork restaurant . We Make our own chocolate from local cocoa ,fermented milled and tempered on site.A multi-cultural blend of dishes, using the best ingredients this beautiful island has to offer.The Red Water Cafe was created to offer opportunities for residents and visitors on the Island of Hawaii to enjoy dining and catering of the finest cuisine. Even the ice cream and sorbet are hand made from local ingredients. Whether it is our dining, catering or personal chef services, we are dedicated to pleasing our customers with creative multi-cultural dishes including Hawaii regional, Asian inspired and other cuisines.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Since the location is a house-converted to a restaurant, you are likely to miss it driving by. We happened to go there because it was the only one in the vicinity that was open until 11:00 pm. The Mai Tai was nicely decked but lacked punch. The "Certified Angus Kansas City Rib Eye Steak" was one of the best we ever had. For downtown Waimea, the prices seemed inflated. Decor is dated and the seating quite crammed.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 99MD2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 528 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

This visit we were seated in the smaller room against the wall and my chair had a nail or something sharp sticking out along the seat bottom. When I pulled my chair closer to table could've cut my hand. Server was a young guy and not good. The guava rib special was $49 with mashed potatoes which are the cheapest least inventive side dish and a vile Asian slaw with strong rancid onions. Completely overpriced for a mediocre or less meal. We enjoyed the Fuji roll, but really $29 is pricey. Bad service and mediocre to lousy food crosses this place off our to go to list.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Unfortunately a long drive for us Kona residents because this place is wonderful. Food and service are both 10 out of 10 every chance we have to eat there.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Dover A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Funky local spot for fine dining - live music some nights - great serving crew - open later than other places in town - small bar - good vibe.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explore796204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Awesome Mac nut creme brulee. Interesting decoration and friendly staffs. This place can get busy so do relent to make reservation for large groups.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank jeffd2000s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Water Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Red Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing