We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful in all aspects.”
Review of Red Water Cafe

Red Water Cafe
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Sushi, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A multi-cultural blend of dishes, using the best ingredients this beautiful island has to offer.The Red Water Cafe was created to offer opportunities for residents and visitors on the Island of Hawaii to enjoy dining and catering of the finest cuisine. Whether it is our dining, catering or personal chef services, we are dedicated to pleasing our customers with creative multi-cultural dishes including Hawaii regional, Asian inspired and other cuisines.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful in all aspects.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Simply put, this eatery has all the elements one needs for an enjoyable lunch or dinner. Great flavors, great service and be prepared to have your taste buds explode with the flavors of these wonderful chefs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tunaroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    107
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST OF FRESHNESS”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great Staff, Freshest of food, freindly atmostpher.
We visited the Red Water Cafe in July and was suprised to see how busy it was on a Monday evening, even though they were busy the staff was on top of the sevice. We waited approx. 10 min. to be seated for our table and from there the service and food was spot on.
We started with the Fuji Roll, a tempura rol comprised of Shrinp,crab,avocado served with a spicy aioli and unagi sauce to die for. We then had the fresh fish of the night which was caught that dayFresh Ono with a Mango Vinaigrette which mango are in season at this time, light and not to dominating to overpower the fish. ending with the double chocolate tort with fresh rasberry sauce...all in all great service and food wish we could visit more often

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Need to Stop Here”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were visiting the Big Island and this restaurant was recommended by one of my extended family members. Bottom line is that Red Water is way overpriced and the food was decidedly average. First, another reviewer noted that "it looked rustic", that is probably being generous, I would say run down would be more appropriate. Another reviewer stated the menu looked interesting. I would say that is accurate and the items had a lot of local color and could have been really good. However the execution was poor. My wife had the tempura and it was heavy and greasy. I had locally raised beef. It was ok, but nothing to write home about and at roughly $40 for the entree, I expected way better. If the menu was priced more around $10 to $12 per entree everything would fit. However, when the tab was $200 for 4 with only two drinks, no soft drinks and no desserts, one would reasonably expect a much higher level of quality all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taste the freshest!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

With each bite you could taste the freshness. Local fish. Local produce. There is even a sushi bar open at dinner. The Fuji Roll was great! Local bakery bakes their buns fresh daily. Tell Kehau, Amy or Jenna we said hello! Service was equally appealing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cool Spot”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on this really cool spot. It looked rustic, almost like a burger joint, but the menu was really interesting and had great variety. The atmosphere was cool, very welcoming, and the staff was terrific. Our waitress had a really fun personality. The food and flavor was very good. We had the coconut tomato bisque and house salad to start - absolutely loved the soup and the salad was extremely fresh. We followed with the pork tenderloin and chicken curry spring rolls and loved the flavor of both. A nice bottle of Foxen Pinot rounded things out nicely. It was a really nice way to start our vacation. Definitely recommend the Red Water Grill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkrgaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Water Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Red Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing