We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Red Water Cafe

Red Water Cafe
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A multi-cultural blend of dishes, using the best ingredients this beautiful island has to offer.The Red Water Cafe was created to offer opportunities for residents and visitors on the Island of Hawaii to enjoy dining and catering of the finest cuisine. Whether it is our dining, catering or personal chef services, we are dedicated to pleasing our customers with creative multi-cultural dishes including Hawaii regional, Asian inspired and other cuisines.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. Service was horrible. They took forever to bring dinner menus and DID NOT bring a sushi or mixed drink menu. Will never go back. Not sure what the fuss was about.

Helpful?
2 Thank nikhilmoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    102
    28
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our family was returning from Volcanoes Nat'l Park and stopped in late. The hostess - Heidi - was very friendly and we were seated right away. We had a great meal adn the deserts were FANTASTIC. We also enjoyed the live entertainment too. We will definitely go back when we return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vince B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Careful.. You may drive by and miss out!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped in with no reservation but they sat us at the sushi bar and it was perfect! Really quiet so we could actually here each other talk. I had the Red Water Martini and it was really good. The tempura veggies and shrimp are fantastic. They split our salad without asking and at no additional charge.. I appreciate that sort of thing. The wok fried rice bowl with shrimp was huge and delicious... we took some home and made another dinner out of it by adding some leftover pork loin. The service was genuinely perfect. And we used our DCI card and got a discount! Super evening. We will be going back soon.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the indifferent”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lunch at Red Water Cafe. Interesting interior, except for the flies. Some of their dishes are a hit and some not so much but our waitress was TERRIBLE! So, for the food first since none of us dine out to become best friends with the waitstaff. We had a good variety from the meu. Sashimi (ahi) & miso soup: good. Fresh mahimahi sandwich: very good due to dressing and cabbage, etc topping instead of lettuce. Seafood saimin: good and unusual. We have had saimin in at least 10 restaurants and this was unique, offering 3 different types-chicken, seafood, vegetarian to which, for an extra charge, you could add a variety of items. Very good. BUT. The tomato coconut ginger soup was awful and cold, despite my specifying I wanted it hot. The waitress was not attentive nor compliant with our requ sets. For example, sweet er for the ice tea. I had to get up and get it and even when she saw me, she did not acknowledge nor apologize. The table next to us had a much better server and their food was hot and quick. The food was good in general but I just don't like having to serve myself.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped in on at Red Water on a whim as our favorite restaurant in Waimea had a 45 minute wait. We sat for over ten minutes waiting for our server and then nearly 20 minutes waiting for our meal. The food was mediocre at best. My calamari was so-so and the dipping sauce was inedible. My wife's veggie tempora had no taste, and even the dipping sauce taste was minimal. Unfortunately, the bill was not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Water Cafe also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Red Water Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing