We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"No Paniolos!!!" "No Horses"???” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parker Ranch

Parker Ranch
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #7 of 46 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Parker Ranch Family Estate (also known as the Historic Homes & Gardens) was home to the Parker family from 1879 to 1992. From these homes the Parker's ran a cattle empire that survives to this day and at its height spanned half of the Big Island. Open Monday through Friday, from 8:00am until 4:00pm for free self-guided tours which includes a 20 minute video on the history of the Ranch.
Rockaway NJ
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“"No Paniolos!!!" "No Horses"???”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We looked forward to visiting The Parker Ranch in Waimea Hawaii for months.
We took the ride from Kailua Kona to Waimea only to find out there is nothing to do at Parker Ranch!!!! We saw no Panilos nor Horses!!!
Two ladies in a reception center told us the only thing we could do was to visit the "Parker ranch Store" in Waimea. ( Note: We are told this store is actually owned by some corporation and no longer affiliated with Parker Ranch! )
OK! I bought a hat! We ate at the mall food court and headed back to our condo in Kailua Kona.
A wasted day!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank WDWBILLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Parker Ranch in Waimea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This area is absolutely beautiful. Lots of fun places to shop and eat also! We would have liked to spent more time there, but went on to Hilo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Parker Ranch prime rib dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Parker ranch have a full service restaurant in Waimea. They advertise green raised beef. The price was excellent and the dinner was also excellent! Will being going back to the Big Island early 2014 and we will definitely go here for a dinner or six!!LOL!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaah the Views Bed and Breakfast Kamuela, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Farmers Market!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

On Wednesday Parker Ranch hosts a mid-day farmers market.
Its a great place to grab some delicious food and pick up some local organic veggies.
Also there are all kinds of crafts and other goodies available to buy.
Its a great way to take a little piece of Waimea home with you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ErikaStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Skip the tourist stuff... See the actual ranch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have been through all the tourism stuff related to Parker Ranch, but if you really want a treat drive out on the Ranch road "Mauna Road" to see beautiful views, and cattle lining the road side. The grass is lush, and cattle are fat and happy, you can see why this Ranch operation was such a success!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank pa55p0rttrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker Ranch also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Parker Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing