We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ride”
Review of Parker Ranch

Parker Ranch
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
More Info
$176.04*
and up
Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small...
More Info
$95.50*
and up
Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour
Ranked #10 of 47 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Parker Ranch Family Estate (also known as the Historic Homes & Gardens) was home to the Parker family from 1879 to 1992. From these homes the Parker's ran a cattle empire that survives to this day and at its height spanned half of the Big Island. Open Monday through Friday, from 8:00am until 4:00pm for free self-guided tours which includes a 20 minute video on the history of the Ranch.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Ride”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently rode with Cowboys of Hawaii and Sarah and can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. Sarah picked the perfect horse (Sweetie) for me as I had a previous bad experiencewith horses. Parker Ranch has always interested my husband since we learned of it's existence in 2008 during our visit to The Big Island. We learned so much about the ranch as well as Hawaii. We also got some wonderful photos. Thanks Sarah

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank mubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    14
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Athol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visited the Visitor's Center”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had lunch and shopped in Waimea. Good parking, clean, lots of choices. Good shopping for paniolo stuff (Hawaiian Cowboy)! I once lived in Pendleton, Oregon so I know a little about cattle!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gods Country”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just some of the most beautiful landscape in the country - rainbows, cool breezes, horses, cows. I never realized that Hawaii had Cowboys before the lower 48 did. They have produced World champion cowboys long before the rest of the US knew what a Paniolo was.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank KonaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for the great morning ride!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A friend and I recently visited Parker Ranch for a trail ride with Cowboys of Hawaii. The horses are happy and well cared for. The ride was peaceful and our guide Sarah was great! She was knowledgeable, down to earth and excellent at her job (a 5th generation cowgirl). My friend, who prior to this ride was nervous around horses wanted to go back for another spin on "Ally" a sweet sorrel mare. This was an easy ride through the rolling hills of the ranch. Don't expect to be "the man from Snowy River" on this trip. Go, have fun, enjoy the peaceful calm and soak in the scenery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Sadly, this attraction is dwindling to nothing.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The memorial to the brave soldiers at Camp Tarawa is very nice, but I was very disappointed in the rest of it. A small sign marked the entrance to Parker Ranch. Six flagpoles stand at the entrance without one flag flying. Driving up the driveway, no signs direct visitors where to go or what to do. We parked, got out, saw a woman walking toward one of the houses who did not speak to or acknowledge us, spoke to her and ask where we were supposed to go. She handed us two papers and went about her business.

We walked around, looking at artifacts, not marked as to what they were, so I asked her what the deal was. She said, "The trustees are putting their efforts into the cattle ranching now." "So, in other words, they don't really care whether tourists come to the ranch or not?", I asked. She said, "Their efforts are in the cattle." We went ahead and toured the Mana Hale, the original Parker home, with it's rich Koa wood throughout. Lots of pictures and artifacts decorated this small home and most items were labeled. As we left the Mana Hale for the walk, again no signs and only the briefest description on the two papers made it impossible to know what we were seeing. One highlight, though, was seeing the giant pine tree in the front yard that was planted in 1852.

Overall, I would advise, just going to the Camp Tarawa memorial out on the highway, pay your respects, and move on to the spectacular drive from there to Hawi on highway 250. We love this drive where you can view the Kohala mountain range (you're actually on it), Mauna Loa, Mauna Kea, and Maui and the vistas from the highway are amazing. In Hawi, we got coffee, shopped, visited, then drove back on the coastal highway past the harbor, the Lapakahi State historic park, and all the Kohala resorts. Great drive!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker Ranch also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Parker Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing