We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woulld Not Stay Here Again”
Review of Jacaranda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacaranda Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woulld Not Stay Here Again”
Reviewed March 17, 2007

My husband and I just returned from Hawaii, with a one night stay at the Jacaranda Inn. We made our decision to stay here because of several write-ups we had see about how nice this Inn was. They must have new owners, because we were not pleased with our room and service. First of all they no longer serve any breakfast, which was one of the reasons we decided to stay here. Secondly, after we checked in and found there was something wrong in our room (the plunger for the sink was not attached so you had to manually lift the plunger to get the water down the sink) the owners already had locked up for the day and there was no way we could try to rectify the situation. Also there was no hot water to use for the jacuzzi tub, there were no cushions for the wicker chairs that were on our porch (since no one was in the room that shared our porch, we used their chairs). We had to open the windows so we could cool the room when we first arrived, and it looked like the window jams had not been cleaned in quite a while. The room was nicely decorated, but that was the only good thing I could say about it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichiganElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
57
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This place oozes charm, comfort, and history. It is beautiful to look at, wander through the property, gaze at the mountains and farm land. Wonderful place to recline with a good book and be lazy. Our room was huge, with plenty of hot water. Didn't miss AC, nor need the space heater (if you are cold, close the windows & use a blanket, hot, open the windows). The location close to Waimea is fabulous.

But why only average -- the innkeeper seems to have mentally checked out. One of the niceties of a B&B is enjoying a raport with an innkeeper willing to share some local history and activities - the feeling of being welcomed into someone's home. It seemed at times like we were intruding on the innkeeper's life and we should not bother them. There were little signs of missed/delayed maintenance on the property (e.g. tons of cob webs everywhere). The property is huge and simply may be too much for one person. OK maybe they were just having a bad week, but it certainly took an above average location down a notch for us.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B&K&V&K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed in the Iris room for 2 nights in Feb. Nice location for exploring the northern end of the island (Hawi, Waimea) too. We're not big B&B ppl, but you have privacy and the people are not intrusive. The room was comfy and had a great little porch overlooking the garden. It was chilly at night and there was thankfully a space heater for use in the room. There is wireless internet in the room (however at the time, it wasn't working well but was fine in the main house) but no TV. The only other thing was that the inn didn't provide soaps for the bathroom - had a thing of body wash and a big thing of shampoo/conditioner in the shower.

Overall cool place and great breakfast too. Its nice and close to the restaurants in town. Had a nice dinner at Solimene's (Italian) one night, and a decent dinner at Merriman's another night. We also recommend checking out the town of Hawi and some good food at Sushi Rock. The hotel is also close to horseback riding at Paniolo Adventures (which was fun).

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2005

I stayed in the Hibiscus room at the Jacaranda for one night. It was beautifully decorated and would have been quite romantic had my wife been travelling with me. The hotel itself is amazing. I wasn't there long enough to poke around in the rooms, nor was I able to partake in their breakfast.

I would say that this is probably not a place for families or folks who want to veg. in front of the TV at night (since there was no TV). Another reviewer mentioned the lack of AC. I stayed at the hotel on a very cool night, and I did not really feel a hint of heat. Fortunately I like to sleep in the cool air.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2004

We stayed two nights at the Begonia room at the Jacaranda Inn. The Inn itself is very impressive, an awesome turn of the century home. The rooms are all unique and well decorated. Our biggest complaint was that the rooms were unairconditioned and very warm. We aren't normally ones to complain about no A/C, but these rooms were just hot during the day with no breeze. Also, if you opened all the doors/windows, any passerbyes could see you. The only other complaint was that the service wasn't incredible. There was only one or two people working at the Inn (in fairness, it was almost empty when we were there). We had to ask for water, no bar/drinks, no in-room refrigerator to have your own drinks. But, from what we saw in Waimea, this is the best spot by far.

Waimea itself is good, but not fantastic. We ate at Merriman's and Daniel Thiebault. Theibault's was the better setting, old preserved turn of the century business with (shocker in Hawaii) a good bar. Merriman's had the best food on the island, we thought, including that at Kona Village.

Waimea is a good base to go to the beaches in North Kohala (including Hapuna, that is great for those who want some waves but not too much and white sand) or Hawi and the north valleys. I don't think Waimea itself is worth spending much time in, though.

Helpful?
7 Thank JeffandTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2003

The Jacaranda Inn, formerly the home of the manager of the Parker Ranch, is a true treat. Charming - our Begonia Suite was decorated beautifully, huge bathroom, lovely lanai, and spotlessly clean. Wonderful breakfasts with host Mary Ellen, who was delightful. Fifteen minutes from spectacular beaches and historic sites. We loved it!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2003

Mary Ellen is the consumate inn hostess. Charming, personable, cordial. Her decorating talent is evident at every turn. The suites are comfortable, thoughtfully furnished, intimate, and luxurious. I would unreservedly recommend the Jacaranda Inn to those seeking an alternative to the huge impersonal resorts of the Kohala Coast.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
9.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
9.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.9 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
12.5 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Inn

Property: Jacaranda Inn
Address: 65-1444 Kawaihae Rd, PO Box 563, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8554
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jacaranda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing