We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Waimea Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The writeup on their website was very misleading. This "Country Lodge" is at the corner of a busy intersection. The room was shabby, the desk chair seat had collapsed, and it was dirty. There was an extra charge for internet. I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    19
    29
    33
See reviews for
28
35
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I should have kept driving. My room was filthy, the paint was filthy and the carped was stained. There was low water pressure and it took forever to get hot water. Many of the rooms appeared to be occupited by construction company employees and they did plenty of partying. The free wireless internet did not reach my room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pcvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waimea hotels

Hilo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

This 'motel' has great potential; however, it needs an overhaul! It is quiet and relatively clean but with screens not fitting; doors peeling, etc it was WAY over priced! There are fridges in the rooms and breakfast was coffee at the front office. Since we stayed 3 nites; I wish that Waimea had other 'reasonable' options. And the internet really didn't work so it was off to Starbucks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canuktourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Checked online and lodge had good reviews but felt deceived when we entered our room. Only request was that we had was for a quiet room. We got room 114, a dark, spooky, filthy room. The adjoining room was 115 and the door was secured but the door on our side was "punched in". We didn't feel safe because the front door locks had been stripped and you had to play with the lock just to secure it. We (my mother, young son and I) had difficulty seeing in the room, it only 2 lights worked. No air conditioning only a loud fan attached to wall that could only be pointed in one direction-to the floor. Floor and bedding felt soiled. Water pressure was low, hot water was actually lukewarm. No refrigerator. The best thing about this motel was that the service was mediocre. Not worth the price, should have drove back to Hilo instead.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We only needed a one night stay in Waimea and wasn't looking for five star accommodation. However, this was a dissapointment from entering the car park and reporting to reception. The office is a mess! Piled with all sorts, not all welcoming. Up the rackety outdoor stairs to our room. Nothing appeared to have been updated since it was built. Smelt and looked clean apart from the hairs around the wash basin. Not 100% sure the sheets were unused. Certainly not pressed, not even the pillow cases. Room dark and dingey, walls paper thin. No facilities whatsoever, no coffee, no outdoor area, nothing! Thank goodness it was only one night. Spent the evening at the nearby Pakini Grill as there was nothing to make us want to spend any time in our room. Beds were comfortable. Don't mind old, but needs to be maintained and somewhat updated. We had stayed in Hilo the night before in a slightly cheaper room which was 100 times better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

YUK. Room was dank and smelly. Window surrounds were compleletly covered with mould. Floor was dirty and sticky - had to wear shoes the whole time. Overall this place is very run down - I don't think one cent has been spent on it since it was built about 50 years ago! I would not call this a lodge - more like a dingey roadside motel. I'm sure you'll be able to do better.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HawaiiTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua, hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

After reading the other reviews for this place, I was hoping our experience would be better than most, but it wasn't.
The ground floor rooms were very musty-smelling, try to request a 2nd floor room. The guest chairs' seats had collapsed, causing me to sink 4" down inside the frame. Someone had used the chair as an ironing board and there were melted burn spots on the seats.
My husband pulled the covers back and found hairs and crumbs on the sheets. I slept on top of the bedspread, my daughter begged me to sleep in the rental car.
The complimentary bottle of body lotion had some lotion missing - obviously not new.
The front office was an absolute mess.
I could go on and on, but no need. You get the idea.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mmmmmmKailua_Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
10.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
14.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
49.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
101 reviews
13.9 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Waimea Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Property: Castle Waimea Country Lodge
Address: 65-1210 Lindsey Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Waimea Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waimea Country Lodge is a rustic 21-room lodge located in historic Waimea Ton, the center of Paniolo (Hawaii cowboy) country. Amid cool air and rolling grasslands, the lodge offers spacious rooms, studios with kitchenettes and a friendly "down home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Waimea Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waimea Country Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing