We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different type of pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pau

Pau
Ranked #12 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A different type of pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Found Pau by using the AroundMe app. Friendly service and cool little building. The pizza crust is similar to cracker bread which makes it unique. We had the Hawaiian and instead of canadian bacon, they use prosciutto - it was really good. Also had their minestrone soup which was their sour dujour -try if offered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    91
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Satisfying, fast, great fresh food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a salad and pizza, both were great. Service was fast, friendly and helpful. Good selection of fresh food, large variety of beverages and desserts (yum!). Has a kids menu. Good stop for a quick meal when you want to get on with your adventures. FYI, it's in the back of the strip mall that has Merriman's restaurant, and is hard to see from the road.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Familytravels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ate at this little out of the way restaurant after our relaxing massage. We didn't lose the serene feelings we had even with a very busy lunch crowd. The food and service was top rate. The pizza had thin crust, which was excellent, all ingredients were fresh. Can't wait until our next visit to Hawaii to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kona Luau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice people, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

For Hawaii, this is a four star place. It's a fantastic value - probably one of the best on the Big Island. You can get a quarter of a pizza (3 slices) and a side salad (nice options - we especially liked the Superfood) for under $10. What a deal! They have decent beer and a few wines that looked pretty interesting.
The pizza's OK, not great, but at those prices, it's worth it.
It's a very casual restaurant - no need to dress up. Nice people. I'd definitely return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, nice staff, worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been driving into this town for dinners away from the hotel seen and have loved every meal and person we have come across. Highly recommend saving money and exploring the fresh flavors Waimea has to offer. Much better than hotel food and can't beat the prices

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsharki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pau also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing