We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another fabulous meal at Merriman's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merriman's

Merriman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 19
Description: Located in the heart of the Big Islands farm community is Peter Merriman's original restaurant; Merriman's Waimea. Chef/Owner Peter Merriman is one of the founders of Hawaii Regional Cuisine and uses 90% or more of local produce, fish and beef. All dishes are handcrafted to highlight the natural flavors of each menu item. Our award winning wine list has selections for all to enjoy. Merriman's knowledgeable and friendly staff will guide you through a culinary experience you will not soon forget. We look forward to serving you!
Boston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yet another fabulous meal at Merriman's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband, son and I first ate at Merriman's in Maui two years ago, and the food was so wonderful we knew we had to try the Merriman's in Waimea while on our visit to the Big Island this summer. It did not disappoint-- in fact, it was so good we ate there twice in one week. The food is wonderfully prepared with interesting flavor combinations. The service is wonderful too, making the experience just lovely.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darcy'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    245
    120
    46
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We (four of us) were seated right by the kitchen, there was too much noise and too much action around us. The food and drinks were good, one of the better restaurants on the Big Island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timo123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
211 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Truly One of the BEST Meals We Have Ever Had!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We almost missed coming to Merriman's, because it is in Waimea, not on the water (or anywhere near the water), and when on an island, we much prefer to dine on the water when we can. While very highly rated, we just hadn't focused on restaurants outside of the Kona-Kailua area. That said, this restaurant cannot be missed. If you only eat at one restaurant on the Big Island (and we tried several), you MUST eat here! The food, flavors, sauces and service were all truly excellent......our mouths were still watering and remembering the amazing combination of flavors when we left. If you are a foodie, this is the place to go. Ambiance is a bit noisy, but in this case, you are here for the food, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElauNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Best fish tacos ever...a mix of ahi, Ono and Mahi-Mahi, these tacos were perfectly spiced and cooked...the ahi was not overcooked, the others were not undercooked. Great side salad and a wonderful mimosa with lilikoi. Great service, pretty decor and a very good guitarist/singer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patolsen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Foodie Nirvana; Refuge from the Resorts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Escaping to Merriman's after eating average food for exorbitant prices at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, we celebrated my mother's 75th birthday with fine wine, delectable food, and impeccable service. Ingredients are for the most part sourced locally, and the menu was innovative. Each morsel was a gastronomic delight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeighBois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's also viewed

 

Been to Merriman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing