We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merriman's

Merriman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Merriman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 19
Description: Located in the heart of the Big Islands farm community is Peter Merriman's original restaurant; Merriman's Waimea. Chef/Owner Peter Merriman is one of the founders of Hawaii Regional Cuisine and uses 90% or more of local produce, fish and beef. All dishes are handcrafted to highlight the natural flavors of each menu item. Our award winning wine list has selections for all to enjoy. Merriman's knowledgeable and friendly staff will guide you through a culinary experience you will not soon forget. We look forward to serving you!
Richmond, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A special place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Lunch at Merriam's is always a special treat for us every year we come to Kona. The food is always unique and creative and the service excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank konabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    952
    245
    120
    46
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tremendous disappointmen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have been customers of this Merriman's for nearly ten years, always with outstanding food. This year with three couples, all who had similar experiences we booked our dinner well in advance, with great expectations. Alas, this night was different. Two orders of the "hog" butcher were totally disappointing. Dry, over cooked, virtually tasteless. We got credit for one. The lamb chops were fatty to the extreme and so undercooked that the customer who ate got food sick that night and the day after. The other three orders, of manchong were also over cooked, a bit dry but OK. We don't know what has gone wrong with the food, but in my view Peter Merriman needs to get back to this kitchen and straighten it out. The service also needs a bit of help, we had a less than perfect waitress to top it off. The highest satisfaction was with the wine and the cappuccino

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Years!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

After 20+ years, my husband & I reconnected with a friend who lives on the big Island. We asked him to choose the restaurant. While we were staying in Kailua-Kona & he lives there, he chose Merriman's in Waimea, about an hour drive. Wow, was it worth it! Hanna, our server, was fantastic, knew the menu & the food, & didn't steer us wrong on any of our selections. I had the fresh Opaka, my husband had lamb done 2 different ways, & our friend let Hanna chose for him so he got the Monchong. All of them were so good. The fresh ravioli appetizer with fresh prawns was flavorful & special. I had the Caesar Salad. The Coconut Creme Brûlée & the Chocolate Purse desserts melted in our mouths. Great way to say Mahalo to Hawaii & our good friend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank okcorralNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best on the Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Great service and great atmosphere. The food will Definitely be a highlight if you go here. My fiancé and I came here once before on a previous trip to Hawaii and we loved it so much that we had to return during this trip. Make reservations beforehand thou

Helpful?
Thank LeighAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the drive to Waimea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

While staying at the Mauna Lani resort, my husband and I drove to Waimea to have dinner at Merriman's We had quite a wait, despite having a reservation, but the food and the service more than made up for it. My hubby ordered fish and I had a steak. Both were excellent, as was our server. Unfortunately this was one of our last nights on the Big Island, so we'll have to wait a while for a return visit to Merriman's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriman's also viewed

 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Merriman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing