We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jacaranda Inn(Waimea)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$600
$525
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort(Puako)(Great Value!)
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$308
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$341
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
71
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden studiofresh eggsenglish muffinsthe big islandwonderful hostsohana suitebeautiful creektwo nightsmauna keanice couplesmall kitchenmain roomqueen bedbreakfast itemsother gueststhe main housecharlie
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 76 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2015

We spent 3 nights in the studio at Waimea Gardens. It is very well designed, perfectly clean and had everything we needed. Charlie even supplied an outdoor grill for our use. The shower was very cool. If you go, you'll see why.

The location is quiet,private and secluded but just a short drive to great beaches and snorkeling. We also drove to the observatory on the volcano and to Hawi. Both an easy shot from Waimea Gardens.

Saturday is a farmers market just down the road so include it in your plans. We also went to Sunday Mass at the Church across from the market which was a delightful experience. The congregation said The Lords Prayer hula fashion. Wonderful!

I would love to go back to Wiamea Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

We stayed at the Waimea Cottage at Waimea Gardens for 4 nights. It is spacious. And it is decorated so than it feels like a home. We played the Hawaiian CDs all of the time. The private patio was neat. Barbara and Charlie were away on vacation; but their housekeeper, Heather, was a good host. The breakfast supplies in the refrigerator each morning were just right. The kitchenette had a microwave and electric frypan, but no oven or stovetop. It was a well-supplied kitchen. There were beach chairs, beach mats, beach towels, and a cooler to take with us on our day-trips.
Waimea is cooler than the coasts. It is a good location to start from to visit the Waipi'o Valley to the east, the Pololu Valley to the north, and the Kohala area to the west.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2014

Barbara and Charlie are excellent hosts. We stayed for 8 nights and wish it could have been much longer. The Waimea area is awesome, definitely country, quiet and comfortable. Very clean and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed at Kohala cottage (warm and cosy atmosphere) for three nights. It has most of the usual amenities (but no dishwasher, washing machine or dryer).
It is well located, but we found it a bit noisy because it's quite close to a road : moreover, the gardeners were working on our terrace while we were having breakfast inside the cottage (but our hosts apologized for the trouble).
Good-quality breakfast items were supplied every day.
Barbara and Charlie were nice hosts, and we do recommend this place even if it's a bit expensive compared to other place we visited in Big Island.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CH-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We did not want to leave when our stay was over! This is one classy cottage. The cottage is just the right size and perfectly decorated. Loved the breakfast provisions in the refrigerator so we could choose what we wanted and when in the morning. Barbara and Charlie are superb hosts.

Room Tip: We loved the cottage.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews