We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A steal of a value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A steal of a value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nites in Waimea Cottage during a 6 nite stay on the Big Island. It proved idyllic and a great value.

This next bit I owe to Barbara, our gracious host:
When you arrive and she shows you around , do not fall into my trap of starting to ask questions that start as "Does the apt. have...?". "Is there a .....?". Stop right there. Trust me: it is fully equipped in every way. The cottages are overseen by this lady that by virtue of her long experience has seen 'everything' in the hospitality industry and has an answer to your question before you even thought of asking it.

On the purely financial side, think of this: for the price of three nights in this wonderful cottage you could have had just 1 nite at Mauna Kea Resort in their cheapest room. Instead, you manage to drag yourself out of bed in the morning to drive a whole 15-20 minutes to that same said resort --which is by my thinking sits astride the best beach on the Big Island, if not all Hawaii -- to arrive by 8:30 am at the latest to be assured of getting 1 of 38 free parking spots (first come ,first serve) and enjoy its beach, outdoor bar/lunch facility, and general ambience, while grinning back at all those who are paying so much more to frolic on the same beach as you.

Bottom line: come to the Big Island , stay at Waimea Gardens Cottage B&B, spend less, enjoy more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCMark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in three B&Bs during a one-week trip to the Big Island. This one was our favorite.

Our cottage (Kohala) is attached to the other cottage, but we never heard any noise, and our privacy was never disturbed. The cottage is well-equipped. It has a whirlpool tub, a full kitchen (small refrigerator only), and a daybed that would suit a child. There's a small table and chairs on the patio outside, and two deck chairs to enjoy the sunshine. Lots of towels, including beach towels. A cleaner tidies up the cottage every day -- not always the case in Hawaii B&Bs.

Waimea is a great location. You can get to two of the BEST beaches in the U.S., Hapuna and Mauna Kea, in about 20 minutes. (Go early to Mauna Kea, as the parking fills up.) The circular drive to Hawi is spectacular -- rolling pastureland on one part of the drive, then the sunny shoreline on the other. Plus a great view of Maui! If you want to go to Waipio Valley, it's a reasonably short distance. So are the resorts -- Mauna Kea, Hapuna Beach, Hilton (like Disneyland, it's so big), and Fairmont.

The center of Waimea town is about a three-minute drive from the cottage. It's sleepy but has some very good restaurants -- Merriman's, Red Water Cafe, Waimea Coffee Shop.

The owners leave a continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, milk, and English muffins in the refrigerator every day. Also freshly laid eggs from their very own chickens. (No roosters! -- you won't be woken up at dawn.) They are incredibly nice, interesting people who have lived in the area for many, many years.

I'm already planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Barbara greeted us in this cute and extremely well maintained cottage that woud feel just right in the English countryside - Only it's in Hawaii! We only stayed for one night but we were delighted by our stay.

Room Tip: Kohala Cottage is sweet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location was a huge selling point for this lodging. It is literally within walking distance to Hawaii Prep Academy-site of a cross country meet. But it would have been excellent for any trip to this part of the island. The Kohala suite has a complete kitchen, we loved being able to pick up local produce and make our meals- the hostess also provided her own home raised eggs. We've stayed on the coast- Waikoloa/Kohala and did not want to pay $15/day for parking, daily tipping of the valet if you didn't walk 15 minutes to your car, listen to leaf blowers when you wanted to take a nap and all the other tack on fees. We'll be recommending this place to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hihono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property May 03 - 05, 2012 and really enjoyed it. The Garden Room cottage where we stayed was very spacious with a really large bath and the breakfast was true Hawaiian with lots of fresh fruit and farm fresh eggs. The owners were very hospitable and we really enjoyed the Waimea area of the Big Island.

We would definitely recommend this property!

Bill & Diane
Lake Jackson, TX.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I just recently stayed for three nights at Waimea Gardens Bed and Breakfast in the Garden Studio. This one of four places we stayed on a two week visit, as the island is so large. We stayed in Waimea as it is a good location for seeing the north of the island, Kohala coast, Waipio and Polulu valleys.
The bathroom has a huge window, with no blinds. Although at first it felt strange showering it is completely private. The huge showerhead was a delight, especially for us, always using low flow showers to save water
We were very happy with our room. It was clean and comfortable. There was a TV and DVD player. There are limited cooking facilities in the Garden Studio, namely a microwave, kettle & toaster, but we had everything we needed for breakfast, including coffee. There is a small private Lanai. However, in early May it is quite cool in the morning and it could be chilly out there without warm clothing. (Waimea is 2500 feet above sea level) It is also quite cool in the evening as well as being quite windy much of the time and the town of Waimea itself is definitely quite wet
We were not aware of any laundry facilities, but hadn’t looked for them, as we had no need for them at this stage of our holiday
From our experience, you need some warm clothing for morning and evening, but it is much warmer during the day
There was no computer in our room, but when we needed one briefly, Charlie provided us with a laptop
Although it isn’t a bed and breakfast in the usual sense, where all the guests eat together, we were provided with what we needed to prepare our own breakfast each morning
Overall, we were very satisfied with Waimea Cottages during our stay. We would certainly come back, if we were fortunate enough to be able to holiday on the Big Island again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay here earlier this week - we didn't want to leave! Barbara and Charlie, the hosts, have been at this a while and it really shows with their attention to detail, both in the property (impeccably maintained) and in the guest suite itself. We stayed two nights in the Kohala Cottage. The website doesn't do it justice! The full kitchen was perfect for us to cook dinner in (Waimea restaurants can get a little pricey, but the local KTA grocery store has the best provisions), and the breakfast fare left in our fridge (breads and gorgeous fresh fruits) allowed us to eat as early or late as we wished.
The inn has such a pleasant, relaxing, cozy atmosphere, combined with the hosts' genuine warmth and friendliness, that makes it feel like staying with friends, but the bathroom and the amenities feel more like a first-class resort. Everything was absolutely spotless. We had everything we needed to explore around the area, including a full set of beach gear to borrow, and a crib for our one-year-old son. Some places simply won't accept young children as guests, but Barbara welcomed our baby literally with open arms. I talked with Barbara at one point, hoping that Baby's crying hadn't disturbed our neighbor, but she said they had done a very careful job of insulating between the cottages so sound won't bother guests. I was relieved!
I just can't say enough good things about Waimea Gardens. You may notice that I have marked only four stars for "value," but take that with a grain of salt: we are typically budget travelers who are happy to sleep in a tent, so this place was a bit of a splurge for us. But it probably is a very good value for such a prime location. Really everything was just right. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutdoorMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
8.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
33.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 65-1632 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Kohala Mountains by a seasonal stream, Waimea Gardens bed and breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii offers two separate vacation cottages, a studio, and its latest addition, the Ohana Suite. Each has private bath, wood floors, full kitchen or kitchenette stocked with breakfast provisions, WiFi, and all amenities and service one would expect to find at a luxury hotel. Waimea's quiet upcountry ranching community is centrally located, providing the perfect jumping-off spot for enjoying all of the Big Island's unique diversity: beautiful white-sand beaches, lush valleys, waterfalls, the summit of Mauna Kea and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waimea Gardens Cottage b&b
Waimea Gardens Cottage Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing