We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, nice owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place, nice owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Barbara greeted us in this cute and extremely well maintained cottage that woud feel just right in the English countryside - Only it's in Hawaii! We only stayed for one night but we were delighted by our stay.

Room Tip: Kohala Cottage is sweet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location was a huge selling point for this lodging. It is literally within walking distance to Hawaii Prep Academy-site of a cross country meet. But it would have been excellent for any trip to this part of the island. The Kohala suite has a complete kitchen, we loved being able to pick up local produce and make our meals- the hostess also provided her own home raised eggs. We've stayed on the coast- Waikoloa/Kohala and did not want to pay $15/day for parking, daily tipping of the valet if you didn't walk 15 minutes to your car, listen to leaf blowers when you wanted to take a nap and all the other tack on fees. We'll be recommending this place to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hihono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property May 03 - 05, 2012 and really enjoyed it. The Garden Room cottage where we stayed was very spacious with a really large bath and the breakfast was true Hawaiian with lots of fresh fruit and farm fresh eggs. The owners were very hospitable and we really enjoyed the Waimea area of the Big Island.

We would definitely recommend this property!

Bill & Diane
Lake Jackson, TX.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

My wife and I just recently stayed for three nights at Waimea Gardens Bed and Breakfast in the Garden Studio. This one of four places we stayed on a two week visit, as the island is so large. We stayed in Waimea as it is a good location for seeing the north of the island, Kohala coast, Waipio and Polulu valleys.
The bathroom has a huge window, with no blinds. Although at first it felt strange showering it is completely private. The huge showerhead was a delight, especially for us, always using low flow showers to save water
We were very happy with our room. It was clean and comfortable. There was a TV and DVD player. There are limited cooking facilities in the Garden Studio, namely a microwave, kettle & toaster, but we had everything we needed for breakfast, including coffee. There is a small private Lanai. However, in early May it is quite cool in the morning and it could be chilly out there without warm clothing. (Waimea is 2500 feet above sea level) It is also quite cool in the evening as well as being quite windy much of the time and the town of Waimea itself is definitely quite wet
We were not aware of any laundry facilities, but hadn’t looked for them, as we had no need for them at this stage of our holiday
From our experience, you need some warm clothing for morning and evening, but it is much warmer during the day
There was no computer in our room, but when we needed one briefly, Charlie provided us with a laptop
Although it isn’t a bed and breakfast in the usual sense, where all the guests eat together, we were provided with what we needed to prepare our own breakfast each morning
Overall, we were very satisfied with Waimea Cottages during our stay. We would certainly come back, if we were fortunate enough to be able to holiday on the Big Island again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had such a wonderful stay here earlier this week - we didn't want to leave! Barbara and Charlie, the hosts, have been at this a while and it really shows with their attention to detail, both in the property (impeccably maintained) and in the guest suite itself. We stayed two nights in the Kohala Cottage. The website doesn't do it justice! The full kitchen was perfect for us to cook dinner in (Waimea restaurants can get a little pricey, but the local KTA grocery store has the best provisions), and the breakfast fare left in our fridge (breads and gorgeous fresh fruits) allowed us to eat as early or late as we wished.
The inn has such a pleasant, relaxing, cozy atmosphere, combined with the hosts' genuine warmth and friendliness, that makes it feel like staying with friends, but the bathroom and the amenities feel more like a first-class resort. Everything was absolutely spotless. We had everything we needed to explore around the area, including a full set of beach gear to borrow, and a crib for our one-year-old son. Some places simply won't accept young children as guests, but Barbara welcomed our baby literally with open arms. I talked with Barbara at one point, hoping that Baby's crying hadn't disturbed our neighbor, but she said they had done a very careful job of insulating between the cottages so sound won't bother guests. I was relieved!
I just can't say enough good things about Waimea Gardens. You may notice that I have marked only four stars for "value," but take that with a grain of salt: we are typically budget travelers who are happy to sleep in a tent, so this place was a bit of a splurge for us. But it probably is a very good value for such a prime location. Really everything was just right. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutdoorMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Exceeded all our expectations. Serene setting, well furnished and probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed - far better than hotels. Daily replenishment of papaya and lime, starfruit, bananas, OJ, milk, granola and eggs from the back yard, plus Kona coffee and a peach tea my wife loved. Only regret is that we did not have time to make a fire in the stone fireplace in the cool evenings. Several excellent restaurants are about a mile distant. Barbara and Charlie are fine folks and run an outstanding B&B!

Room Tip: All three cottages are fine, but the Waimea has a stone fireplace and wood on hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Metro area
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at the Waimea garden cottage. We chose to stay in the town of Waimea as a home base for seeing the north and west parts of the island. The cottage was fantastic and above our expectations. The cottage had everything, kitchen area, wood fireplace, small seating area, flat screen tv, comfy bed, large closets, double sink separate from bathroom room, brick patio. The decor was very nice and the owners seemed to have thought of every detail. There were beach towels and chairs, extra towels, bug spray, flashlights, radio and cd player, dvd player, blankets, pillows, etc. Felt right at home here. Every morning there was fresh juice, eggs, and slices of bread in the refrig for breakfast. The surrounding yard is nicely landscaped. The only negative thing I can say is hearing the round noise in the morning, other than that, nothing but positives. The owners are very friendly. The location was great, as you are less than 30 minutes to the beaches (easy access down Hwy 19 to any of the beaches going towards Kona), and about 20 minutes to the northern coast via hwy 250. The town has two supermarkets (we liked the Foodland)and plenty of restaurants. If you're there on a Sat, go to the farmers market downtown, the local vendor food was fantastic. It was a great place to come back to every day after touring the island. We would highly recommend both the town and the B&B. We compared everything else on the island to both.

Room Tip: The town is at 2,500 feet elevation, so it can be a little chilly at night as compared to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
8.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
33.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 65-1632 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Kohala Mountains by a seasonal stream, Waimea Gardens bed and breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii offers two separate vacation cottages, a studio, and its latest addition, the Ohana Suite. Each has private bath, wood floors, full kitchen or kitchenette stocked with breakfast provisions, WiFi, and all amenities and service one would expect to find at a luxury hotel. Waimea's quiet upcountry ranching community is centrally located, providing the perfect jumping-off spot for enjoying all of the Big Island's unique diversity: beautiful white-sand beaches, lush valleys, waterfalls, the summit of Mauna Kea and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waimea Gardens Cottage b&b
Waimea Gardens Cottage Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing