We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of beauty, peace, tranquility and good food.”
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We came to visit Wapio Wayside in Dec 2006 and we were so enchanted that we asked Jacqueline if we could Inn sit for her.. This opportunity to stay in a place of harmony, beauty and peace was life changing. We came back to Oregon and made plans to retire, sell our home and be available to Inn sit at Waipio Wayside. (We have returned three times since then and have learned so much about the B&B business). Just imagine getting up at 6 to make breakfast and then starting to clean as soon as breakfast is over so the next day's guests can check into a room that is fresh and clean. Amazingly we are still enchanted with Inn sitting and Waipio Wayside and want to return as often as Jacqueline needs us. . Waipio Wayside is a place where your life will change and you will find enchantment and peace. As a postscript we would like to pass on two little known facts about a B&B stay. There is very limited time 5 hours on the outside to accomplish all of the work needs to be done before new guests arrive (not an easy task when you are changing out 3-5 bedrooms and bathrooms). Also drop-ins are great and a phone call early in the day would help us be able to plan our organic breakfast menus and travel to purchase additional organic ingredients if needed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Waipio Wayside B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

What a perfect stay! Our host had thought of everything -- from a fabulous breakfast to a cozy bedroom. Even the bedside library was exactly what I wanted. Not only was our stay at the B&B great, but her advice helped us make the best use of our sightseeing time.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfunTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Absolutely loved the old home and the gardens. Good location close to the Waipio valley. Abit noisy with the highway right next door. Aside from that, we found the host to be on the cold side. Breakfast was nice, but a little on the skimpy side. Our bed was small and somewhat uncomfortable. The host should invest in new mattresses. Small portion of eggs, muffins were very good but were in limited quantity and the breakfast overall left us both hungry. After breakfast, we got the feeling like the host wanted us out as her level of hospitality began to diminish shortly after. What makes a B&B great is a combination of beautiful home, great location and a warm and welcoming host. This B&B had the home and the location. Unfortunately, the host was less then warm or welcoming. We stayed in a wonderful B&B in Hilo the next night and realized what a difference a good host can make.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HITraveller177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My sister and I stayed 5 nights at Jacqueline's Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast. It is a 1920's Plantation Managers Home, so it reminded me of what Hawaii was like many years ago. The rooms were so beautifully decorated and so welcoming. We stayed in the Library Room and was more than spacious for the two of us. We so enjoyed relaxing on the large deck with a glass of wine and good books. Jackie's breakfasts were wonderful and filling and we enjoyed eating in the town of Honokaa once. Wailua is about 15 miles away and had several very good restaurants. One, Huli Sue's (which was Bar B'Q, was outstanding. It is easy access to both sides of the island, so sightseeing was a breeze. It was a fantastic vacation for both of us.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JunegNewcastle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at Waipio Wayside Inn. Jackie was a wonderful hostess. She provided us with a healthy breakfast including a great selection of organic teas and fresh organic fruits. We stayed for over a month - and enjoyed everything- we felt like we were in our own home! Jackie had so much knowledge to offer about the island to her guests it was always a new adventure at breakfast when she talked about the area! I A great getaway, secluded with a spacious deck overlooking the ocean. We would highly recommend this gem of an inn and would stay there again and again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

For my first visit to tthe big island, I doubt that we could have found a better place to base our explorations of the north east part of the island from. Not only were the accomodations excellent, but Ms. Horne is very knowledgeable about the area and its history. She was able to provide some excellent suggestions about sights worth seeing. I would add that the breakfasts were generous and well presented.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KweiLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

The Waipio Wayside Inn has a lot of characters and all the rooms were beautiful. We stayed in the Plantation Room which was spacious and very clean. I loved the organic bath gel, hand soap and shampoon that Jacqueline provided for her guests. Breakfast was served in nice settings and was delicious. Jacqueline was very knowledgable and gave us good tips on travelling and shopping. If you are looking for a romantic and nice place to stay at on the Big Island - go there. You'll love it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellenklhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.2 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
73 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
29.5 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
25.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
34.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Rd, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Honokaa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing