We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly plus!”
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly plus!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at Waipio Wayside for a week and loved it! My 8 year old son and I started off in the Plantation Room, but spent our last two nights in the Library Room upstairs. The house is welcoming and close to both Waipio Valley and the pretty, historical town of Honoka'a. Jacqueline is a superb host - during our stay, she offered many helpful ideas for restaurants, beaches, and local adventures. We've been to the Big Island a number of times, but Jacqueline introduced me to many new places this time around.

The food is fantastic! Big breakfasts include very good coffee, local fruit, and much more.

My son loved Sweetie the cat... who kept mostly to herself. The geckos were a big hit too.

Overall, we loved this place and hope to return very soon. Thanks for everything Jacqueline! Thanks also to Susan for keeping the place looking so good and for being so welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    25
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
28
141
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time on Hawaii....We checked this place on tripadvisor first. The advisor was right... a very remarkable and very nice place. Jacqueline was a great host. Thank you for the very good breakfast. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Waipio Wayside B & B is a lovely old plantation house made comfortable and welcoming through the dedicated efforts of the capable Jacqueline Horne. Thanks, Jacqueline, for the hearty and healthy breakfasts of island fruit salad, wonderful bacon and eggs, french toast, fresh-made muffins, and island granola. The WW has a unique back porch area that extends beautifully and naturally over the land, so you feel like you're gently floating over and into the green landscape toward the sea in the distance. The coqui frogs add a touch of nature's serenade to the dusk! Jacqueline also had excellent recommendations for restaurants and events in Honoka'a and Waimea. We especially enjoyed browsing and sampling at one of the Waimea farmer's markets that she recommended.

The Waipio Wayside is in a lovely location, close enough to Honoka'a and the Waipio Valley for close access, but very much in a place to feel away from it all if you want. We'll return there next time we're on the Big Island!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moon Room, which has a private bath in the hall across the main room, which we knew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed there for one night over the Xmas break, very nice house, quiet, heard the Puerto Rican frogs at night, which sound like birds! Jacqueline was very hospitable, she is a great cook and tailored the bkast to our 5-year old. She also gave us some great tips for restaurants in the Waimea area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasandraDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our stay at the Waipio Wayside B+B was wonderful. We felt instantly welcomed. How could we not be when upon our arrival we found a candle burning in our room and cookies on our pillows. Thanks to Jacqueline who was not only a gracious host but also a great help in organizing our days on Big Island we saw amazing things.
The Waipio Wayside B+B is all you imagine a B+B to be.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ammSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've read the other reviews and yes, it is not the MOST romantic location because of the older style house. It is not SOUND proof even if my room was on the front w. connecting bath. I never heard people in their rooms, but you could hear footsteps from other parts of the house sometimes.

My hostess was VERY nice. She was there from daylight till dark for me. She answered all my goofy questions plus checked the webcam on the mountain for viewing nights, etc. Jacquiline and her 4 footed friend, Sweetie, made my stay near Waipio the highlight of my trip.

Thank you, Jacki & Sweets.

Room Tip: Anything except the Moon Room if you are traveling with children. I love the frogs at night! I love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsd1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We initially planned to stay at the Waipio for only three nites, but got caught up in flight delays on our return due to Hurricane Sandy and were welcomed to stay another two nites. During this stay we developed a strong relationship with the owner who obviously enjoys her business of hosting diverse visitors. The breakfast treats were excellent and always different from day to day. We were given good recommendations for evening meals and sites to visit. Due to our unexpected extension of our stay we were moved to a second room and found it to be as well furnished and unique as the first. The facility was very clean and had a wonderful view of the ocean from a deck extension and gazebo. This turned out to be our favorite stay on the Big Island and was a wonderful cap to our honeymoon. Phil

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.2 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
73 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
22.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
44.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
22.4 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Property: Waipio Wayside B&B
Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Rd, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Honokaa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing