We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very popular place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramma's Kitchen

Gramma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very popular place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We enjoyed a nice lunch here. Huge menu to choose from with lots of local dishes. Very congenial ambiance. And we noted that a lot of the clientelle were local people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calif_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well done Grandma!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great food and service. Staff friendly ++ and attentive. Loved the fact that they are honouring their local heros.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barb_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in the little place and had a great breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns, and toast.

Everything was cooked great and tasted very good. I'd come back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bigkahuna808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go if it's "too busy"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My colleagues and I usually stop here to eat when we're in town and have had good experiences. I called today to make a take-out order and they replied, "We're not taking any phone orders because it's too busy (giggle), call back in a half hour". So I did so 40 minutes later and they gave me the exact same reply.

I know that restaurants do get busy during lunch hour, but a much more appropriate response would've been to ask me if it's alright that it takes an extended amount of time to make my order, and then take my order.

It's very disappointing that they have such poor customer service in a industry that is customer driven. This is a small town on a small island and business do rely on word of mouth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Grandma's is exactly the kind of place you hope to find when you travel- authentic home cooking with the freshest local ingredients made with pride and love. Super friendly staff, charming decor, best hamburger I can remember with local grass fed beef. And tomato that tastes like a tomato should. Very reasonable prices and generous servings. Excellent onion rings too.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gothampanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma's Kitchen also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gramma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing