We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic burgers”
Review of Gramma's Kitchen

Gramma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic burgers”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I ate here on our way from Hilo to the Kohala Coast based on the Tripadvisor rating. We weren't disappointed at all. We both ordered burgers - my wife had the standard cheeseburger and I had a bacon and blue cheese burger. We upgraded our side orders to onion rings and garlic cheese fries. The burgers were perfect - cooked medium rare with just a bit of pink so that they were juicy and flavorful. And both the onion rings and french fries were a cut about the ordinary as well.

Service was quick and attentive. Would eat here again for sure if we're ever in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    43
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooked Breakfast”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wow they give you a lot of food here. The food was very good. We had some of the hash browns, bacon, rice, eggs, pancakes and omelettes. All of it was very good and very reasonably priced. I would eat here again. Service is quick and the surrounding area is cool.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jclb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Went there for lunch and took home dinner”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stopped here for lunch. It was great but so much food we ended up taking home for dinner. We had the Porteguese Bean soup and we both wished we had ordered a bowl and nothing else. I had the fish and fried calamari and it was so tasty. The calamari melted in the mouth - nothing like what you get in NYS. The service was great. They explained everything to you and asked everyone that came in where they were from. And they knew all the locals by name. Very impressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Great food with hometown feel. Honokaa is a pretty area of the big island well worth the drive from Hilo or Kona.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stumbled on this lovely little restaurant while passing through town. As we were assessing whether or not to go in, two customers in the window waved to us and gave us the thumbs up. When we went in, it was the sweetest little restaurant I have ever seen with pictures of notable Hawaiian residents and memories of two Portuguese grandmothers who were the inspiration for the place.

The staff were incredible friendly and made us feel right at home.

The menu was simple but full of delicious meals that were generously sized. It was like we had a meal at someone's house... it was so lovely and cosy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramma's Kitchen also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gramma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing