We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tuna Melt!”
Review of Simply Natural

Simply Natural
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tuna Melt!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was a spot that our ATV guides told us about after our trip. We stopped in and they were busy, just one super sweet Momma cooking in the back. This by far was the Best Tuna Melt, we have ever had! She said it was her specialty and so we all got one. The only thing I had an issue with was the bread, I personally do not like Grainy Wheat Bread. I am sure other do, so i would have liked to have a choice, I just ate the Tuna Melt off the bread and again it was AMAZING!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank dtnks5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    9
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small place with very slow service”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We tried this place a few times and it took us forever to get a meal. A couple of times we were the only people in there and it would take 1 1/2 hours to get two waffles. They are sooooo slow! Only one person doing the serving, cooking, cleanup and dishwashing. The plates are old and chipped. The bathroom is a real hike to find and not very clean.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Hawaii”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I ate an amazing mahi mahi salad and my boyfriend had the same in a sandwich. The ingredients were delicious and so fresh! The mahi mahi was cooked really well with a simple sauce and peppers, you should stop here!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleninacolombina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Ate lunch there after a morning ATV ride. Food was fresh, delicious and unique. Sat on sidewalk seating. Very quaint. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible service!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This place was recommended by a tour guide. The owner was training a young girl at the register who was very young, probably her first job. She kept making mistakes, which is to be expected, but she was really bad - told us that a salad came with our sandwiches. When we finally got our food (took about 15 minutes) and asked for the salad, the owner said that the girl made a mistake and she didn't honor what the girl told us. Sorry lady, when your employees make mistakes, you need to have the character to honor what they tell customers. If you can't train your employees properly, don't make it the customer's fault. The owner made a fool of herself instead of just eating the 50 cents it would have cost to keep the customer satisfied. The sandwich was good but VERY expensive for what we got. We paid almost $30 for two sandwiches (no salad) and drinks. Warm drinks were served over ice in a Dixie cup. For $4 for a bottled lemonade, I expect at least a plastic cup to keep the ice from melting. We'll avoid this place in the future and suggest you do the same. Overpriced and terrible service - bad combination. Finally, the owner was hinting that the girl should be tipped. Yah, right!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappytravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Natural also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Simply Natural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing