We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to pronounce, easy to embrace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Honokaa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Hard to pronounce, easy to embrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I found this little out of the way luxury B&B through Hawaii Tourism Oceania in Australia where I am a travel writer for newspapers and magazines there. It's on a par with the excellent Palm Cliffs House in Hilo and Hawaii Island Retreat further up in Hawi and I consider myself blessed for finding it. It's an immaculate and gorgeous property, run by passionate and devoted staff who catered for our needs exquisitely. It's seamless.

The first night, a dinner was prepared for us from all local and homegrown ingredients. I was traveling with one of Australia's finest chefs and he was blown away as was I by the flavours, appearance and preparations. The next morning, we had a 90 minute drive to go marlin fishing in Kona so had to have breakfast early. Done without any drama. And it was spectacular--fruit, Portugese bread French toast with roasted mac nuts and lots of local coffee.

We came back to afternoon wine and appetisers, a fire (it gets little chilly on the cliffs overlooking the ocean at 2000 feet) and the warmth of a lovely innkeeper. What a great find. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
146
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lost in the forest, at the end of a small road, you will find the great Waianuhea B&B, where Randy, the manager, will give you a warm welcome. Very luxurious and comfortable room, with a big bathroom, with shower and bathtube. Also the dining-experience is a must, with view of the garden. Nice breakfast in the morning. Overall, it was our best stay on our 3 weeks trip to the Hawaiian Islands. Very recommended, and I hope Randy and her husband will continue their business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I didnʻt get the chance to stay at this beautiful place, but Waianuhea B&B hosted a work conference. The drive is a little rugged, but once you arrive it is definitely worth it! Our conference area was upstairs and the cool Honokaʻa breeze blew through the conference room all day. We also got to see each individual unit. The units are AMAZING and right out of a travel magazine! Very quaint and perfect for the romantic getaway. The property itself is spectacular. The owners did a beautiful job with keeping the grounds very plush and natural. The area is scenic and we were able to see the ocean from upstairs. Lunch was provided by the staff - it was very healthy and filling. Overall, I definitely would recommend this place for anyone wanting to see Hawaii without the high rises and urbanization. Thereʻs not a McDonalds for miles!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loteni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Wow! Can't say enough good things about this gem of a hideaway! Such a luxurious home and very comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and the service so personable. Randy is a manager who cares about her guest's every need. Breakfast is outstanding, and you must book a personal prepared dinner with chef Peter. His exquisite blend of all local ingredients for a 5 star quality meal is quite a treat! Make Waianuhea your place to stay on Hawaii!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmaldonado1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

So much has already been written about Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast that there isn't much left to say, but I would just simply like to reconfirm how excellent this B&B is. In fact, Waianuhea seems more like a 5 star hotel with only 5 rooms.

The property is hidden in a tropic forest on a hill above the coast and just bellows the Mauna Kea observatories. The location thus creates a very special, relaxing and calming atmosphere. We chose to stay here for the last 3 days of our honeymoon on the Big Island and we will never regret it! In fact, we only regret we didn't book more than two nights at Waianuhea.

It is fair to say that the quality of their service and their attentiveness surpasses many five star hotels anywhere in the world. All the staff members are extremely kind and attentive, especially manager Randy who really knows what she is doing.

Breakfast is made from scratch and very delicious. They were also very creative and willing to take an extra step in order to accommodate all our needs. We didn't want to order the whole dinner and have asked just for a desert. As you can see on the picture, we were served with amazingly tasty Green Tea Creme Brûlée with a White Ginger Flower - simply the best desert I have ever had.

Moreover, the snack & wine (every day at 5 pm) is a really nice treat. They usually prepare tasty snacks (such as Baba Ganoush and homemade crackers) that go well with the wine. Also, they will do your laundry for free! They provide turnover service every afternoon (a tropic flower blossom and a chocolate truffle will wait ion your bed every evening). Rooms are comfortable and beds are soft and cozy. There is also a small kitchenette available 24/7 where tea or coffee is available. My only suggestion would be that they install a Sauna in the basement area which would improve their spa facility.

There is a huge selection of DVDs that you can use free of charge, wi-fi is complimentary. On the evenings you can use the lounge (combination of a lobby and a living room), where you can enjoy the view of the nature outside while burning wood in the fireplace.

Simply PERFECT!

Room Tip: Each room has its own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMaroungtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Peacful, realaxing, service, eco-managed - everything you want. Not on a beach - perfect - up in the hills, away from the crowds. We had the suite. There is a private outdoor hot tub with the suite where you have views of the observatories on Mauna Kea. Breakfast is big, made from scratch and lots of variety with fresh fruits and daily special offering. Randi's scones are perfect as is the Hawaiian french toast and banana crepes. Have Peter cook your dinner. He is a great chef and the veggies come from his organic garden. Daily wine hour with Sonia is a time to meet other guests or if you are there solo to chat with Sonia about Hawaii and things to do. Each person we engaged with were helpful and wanted you to be there. Coffee growing on the gardens - walk around the property for an after breakfast walkabout. Little bit of heaven.

You will need a car. 4-wheel drive only if you want to go to Waipio or Mauna Kea. You are 1 hour from Hilo and 1 hour from Kona. Follow the directions on the website! There is a grill on the deck if you want to cook. JJ's on Honokaa has the best meats. Honokaa is a sleepy town. Volcano National Park is a round trip day drive - well worth it. Drive to Waimea is 20 minutes. Try the local brewery.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Have to wholeheartedly agree with other reviews- A wonderful and memorable experience. This B+B is so much more than just another inn. We visited for two nights after a large family gathering at another location on the Big Island and just wanted a place to unwind. Waianuhea was perfect. Cozy and quiet, off the beaten track. The staff, especially Randy the manager, are pleasant, easy going, and eager to chat about ideas for day trips and activities. Returning from our excursions to wine and pupus in front of the fire was truly wonderful. We would also recommend adding dinner at least once during your stay, Chef Peter puts together a unique and tasty meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDerBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.3 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
22.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
26.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
26.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
25.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45-3503 Kahana Dr, PO Box 185, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-6901
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remote yet luxurious bed and breakfast on the big island of Hawaii. Located in beautiful Ahualoa above the town of Honokaa, Waianuhea's five guest rooms combine a sense of remote retreat with modern convenience and sumptuous furnishings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waianuhea Hotel Honokaa
Waianuhea Bed And Breakfast
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast Honokaa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing