We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delicious Taste of Aloha in an Old Sugar Cane Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe il Mondo

Cafe il Mondo
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fair Haven, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Delicious Taste of Aloha in an Old Sugar Cane Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Cafe il Mondo has it all -- the friendliest owners and staff, delicious pizzas from their stone oven, an expresso bar at the 1924 koa wood bar, blockbuster calzones, organic Greek salads, and ever-changing pasta dishes, all at budget-friendly prices. The cafe is tiny and fills quickly, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings, so we often went for an early lunch. Sergio, a Brazilian classical guitarist who lived in Italy for many years, and his Maui-born wife Dena, the owners, always were helpful about local resources (we're building an home in the area) and places of interest. My husband and I have been going to Il Mondo for 2 years, whenever we're in Hawaii, and from the moment we walk in the door to the sight and aroma of Jeff the Chef working his magic in the kitchen we feel like we're back in the home of friends. It's pure aloha.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryfromvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    67
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Read all the reviews, and since Honokaa only had so many restaurants to choose from, we planned to eat at Cafe il Mondo - and are we glad we did. We had a GREAT meal here. When we first walked in, I was a little skeptical about the food, but when our waitress came over we completely fell in love with her and the place. She was adorable. We ordered the antipasto salad and a calzone. They were both DELCIOUS. And their pesto??!!! OMG - to die for. The night we were there, there were 3 people running the place and I think they were all under 21 yrs. They were all very nice, very helpful and working their butts off. My husband and I were really impressed. Don't forgot that you can go across the street to grab a bottle of wine.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan,Canada
2 reviews
“Best Pizza Discovery !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stopped for lunch on the way to Waipi'o Horse Ride. Pizza with homemade crust and
all fresh ingredients, simply delicious. After the wonderful afternoon horse ride, the
whole 10 of us invaded Cafe Il Mondo this time. Calzones are the best I've had. If
you have a bit of time, this is a great choice. Hope to be back soon.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjetsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing PIZZAS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We've had a lots of pizzas, but this one was right up there on the top! The chef understood what exactly we wanted and made sure we got the best. I would really recommend anyone visiting the Big Island to pay these guys a visit.
The service was a little slow, but in their defense, they are a very small restaurant. They do not accept credit/debit cards, so remember to take enough cash. The pizzas were about 13 bucks apiece.
To summarize, these pizzas are the best we've EVER had. We wouldn't mind going back to Hawaii just to eat here :)

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This is one of those local "finds". After...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

This is one of those local "finds". After expensive resort food for several days we found this to be the best meal so far! We're from New Jersey so we were skeptical about how "italian" the food could be in this little storefront place with a neon pizza sign. I think we'll drive back again JUST for another meal here! If going to waipoa valley for horseback or zip lining build this into your plans!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njwhateva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe il Mondo also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe il Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing