We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchid Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Holualoa
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Village Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Tiki Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
15
2
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
2
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 18 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Although I live in the beautiful state of Hawaii (on the island of Oahu) every once in awhile it's good to get away to one of the other islands. I chose The Big Island on my recent mini vacation and am so glad that I did! Not only did I have access to all of the fabulous sites The Big Island offers but I stayed at the premier Bed & Breakfast on the island. The Orchid Inn in the charming little village of Holualoa is located on the west side of the island. This is the warmer, drier side of the island and The Orchid Inn is but a stones throw away from some fabulous beaches. The owner, Darrelyn was as generous with her advice about where to go and the shortest route there as she was lending out coolers, beach chairs, beach towels etc. Breakfasts on the lanai overlooking the ocean and Kona below with an occasional cruise ship anchored in the bay were a visual and culinary delight. She has a creative flair in the kitchen and it was not unusual to be eating fruit or vegetables raised on the property. My accomodations exceeded what I expected from the website. The grounds should be seen in order to appreciated. They are truely "estate like". Close to the airport and easily accessible to the rest of the island. .A truely exquisite place and a fabulous getaway for me. I'll be back.......

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fauxfoxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

Nancy and I spent 5 wonderful nights at The Orchid Inn. The view was superb, the suite refreshing and the conversation enjoyable. Darrelyn provided excellent sightseeing information and was a remarkable host (and a good scrabble player too!). We will definitely stay at The Orchid Inn on our next visit to the Big island.

Dwight and Nancy Oates
Newfoundland, Canada

Stayed: May 2008
Thank DeuxO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Our stay at the Orchid Inn in Holualoa, Hawaii was absolutely delightful. Our room, the Zanzibar Suite, was appropriately decorated to carry out the African theme and very comfortable. We had our own private lanai overlooking gorgeous tropical gardens that surround the inn. The proprietress, Darrelyn Gravett, is very friendly and welcoming. She loves her island and enjoys suggesting nearby sights, her favorite restaurants, and day trips. She was available to answer questions and for enjoyable conversation, but she was also considerate of our privacy.

The inn’s location is ideal. It’s only 20 minutes from the Kona airport, so it was a great choice after we arrived in Kona, following our long flight from North Carolina. The east shore beaches are all within driving distance. Breakfasts at the inn are light and tasty and served in an open-air dining area. We were served omelettes with avocadoes and tomatoes from the garden on the first morning, and delicious banana pancakes the second day. There is also an excellent restaurant, the Holuakoa Gardens, almost within walking distance of the inn that serves lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DianaChapelHill_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

The Orchid Inn invites you into another time and place...think lush, country-Hawaiian. If you’re looking for local flavor, a short winding ride up the Kona hillside from Kileua will put you there, in elegant style. The Inn sits back off a long alley-kind of driveway densely framed by coffee plants, beans dangling within arm’s reach. A lava-rocked gateway opens out onto the grounds, sumptuous and well-tended by Darrelyn (she has lots of stories about her gardening adventures). Our room, the upstairs Zanzibar Suite, was immaculate with up-scale Asian/African themed décor, had great garden and long-range ocean views with a comfortable sitting-terrace. Louvered windows and plenty of screened sliders kept geckos out and Kona breezes in (which means moist, most likely rainy air in the late afternoon and evening). Though the setting is indeed country living – roosters will be your alarm clock (sometimes earlier than you intended), and the neighbor’s dogs will bark that evening has arrived – the Inn is without a doubt luxurious pampering. If you’re city-fied folk you will quickly grow accustomed to the animal music once the laid back Hawaiian mood sets in. (Besides, what’s Hawaii without its roosters, dogs, wild turkeys, and routing pigs? It’s part of the charm. Be sure and ask Darrelyn about the one-eyed, limp-legged turkey that quietly roves the grounds.) Breakfasts are simple family-style (the only reason I rated the Inn 4 stars instead of 5) and served in the lovely screened lanai overlooking the grounds and ocean view. While preparing our breakfasts, Darrelyn was a great source of local information and provided lots of good tips about beaches, restaurants, and volcanic activity while we sipped our coffee and drank in the views. She is a gracious host and made us feel at home and very welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KapunaKalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We only stayed one night because we only stayed one night on this side of the island. If we had it to do over we would spend all three nights in this lovely spot. The Inn is beautiful, very elegantly decorated. It is "tucked away" (do not try to find in the dark) and it is peaceful with a beautful view and amazing sunset! There are ferrel chickens that crow all night but that is The Island. If you have children I think this would not be a good spot since it has many easily breakable items. However, it is a perfect romantic get away spot. The hostess is very gracious. See her website for gorgeous accurate photos of the site.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank groundedflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews