We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved This Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Kenosha, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved This Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just up the road from the madness of downtown Kona is the cute historic town of Holuakoa and there is one of the best meal spots on the island. Local products loving prepared in a scenic, historic setting. The only reason this isn't a 5 star is because the overwhelmed waiter forgot our drinks and didn't catch it until the bill came and we pointed it out. He was trying hard but seemed new to the business and was having trouble managing the tables. They do get credit for teamwork as the chef was bringing plates out to the tables and removing dirty dishes to help the waiter out. This is well worth the drive up the hill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank work_4_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    142
    36
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
“Hidden gem in the hills just east of Kona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Incredible dining experience in the hills (about 1400 feet altitude) just east of Kona. The chef is innovative and the food is great (and we were there more than once). Open air restaurant (but with a roof) has beautiful views of the hills and ocean and the seating is very comfortable. The staff we met clearly love working there and the service shows that. If I lived in Kona I'd eat there every week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcminnville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great restaurant...excellent food and wonderful service. Had a bit of a wait but it was well worth it. The pastrami sandwich was so delicious...I'll never have a better one anywhere else. Fresh ingredients, grass fed beef, baked their own bread. We'll be back and are recommending it to all our friends!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise on the big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived at the Cafe after a very long day of travel from New York. We were tired but hungry and the Cafe was recommended by the Inn where we staying. It did not dissapoint. It is lit with beautiful white lights and you immediately feel that you are in a special place. Our waitress was knowledgeable, the food was terrific and the frogs serenaded us all night ! It was a wonderfully relaxing meal, just what we needed to ease into that Aloha spirit. By our third visit, the waitress urged us to try the guacamole, (which we never, ever eat) but we did try it and loved it.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants to relax and enjoy a great meal in a lovely and fun setting.
Joanne and Bruce, delmar, New York

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A reason to move to the Big Island...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Loved this restaurant. Wished we'd found it earlier so we could have tried everything on the menu. My idea of what island life is about.Great food, drink, surroundings and price. The koi are beautiful. I could live in Holualoa!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvNLaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing