We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and excellent food”

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and excellent food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I greatly enjoyed our dinner at Holuakoa Cafe. First off, the restaurant is beautiful. You dine outdoors under a high roof, surrounded by lush greenery and koi ponds. We each had the Pumpkin Soup, which was good though not a "must have." The guacamole, on the other hand, is a must. The best we have ever had. I had a very good vegetarian lasagna and my wife had the sausage and pork with mixed vegetables. The sausage was excellent. For dessert, my coffee creme brûlée was wonderful. So was the flour less chocolate cake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chartering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    151
    37
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Peaceful garden setting”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great food and service is not rushed. A very peaceful way to have a delicious meal in a relaxed garden setting. Perfect if you are visiting Kona coffee country, and a short drive from Kona even if you are not. Seating is outdoors, and it tends to be around 5 degrees cooler than Kona since it is upcountry, so also a nice way to take a break from the heat. The menu changes daily, there is parking in the back (enter via Imin Center or Holoallua Gallery) or street parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50waystogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely outdoor seating with a chorus of croaking frogs! Very friendly service and great food. Wonderful lilikoi (passionfruit) cheesecake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the drive; definitely don't pass it up if you are driving through!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food is amazing but this is part of the slow food to table movement so don't be in a rush or hurry! If mosquitoes like you, then come prepared. Lovely outdoor setting. Everything on menu that I have tried is great- healthy and tasty!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant ever!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything is locally grown from the lettuce to the beef! Menu changes regularly depending on what the get from local farmers. The restaurant is gorgeous and all seating is outdoors in the garden and porch area. The drinks are reasonably priced and our appetizer was fantastic. Husband & I both got fish (Ono for me, Ahi for him) and they were unbelievably good. For dessert I had the flourless chocolate torte- it was choco-heaven. He had the Kona coffee creme brûlée and I had to ask him NOT to lick the bowl clean in public.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunThruYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing