We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing meal in a nature garden!!!”

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Refreshing meal in a nature garden!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended, stopped by for brunch on the way to the Kina coffee tour. Amazing garden setting with nature surrounding you, yet no bugs. On top of a mountain so great views driving up. Super pancake stack, superb sandwiches. Make sure to order the fish of the day! Fantastic plating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dssrriri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    148
    37
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
“Best meal in 9 years on Big Island!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have lived in Kona for 9 years. We have always heard how good this place was, but never tried it. We moved to Holualoa and thought we would give it a try. We went for breakfast and WOW! The place is much bigger than it looks from the outside and beautiful setting. The service was great, but the food was simply the best we have had in 9 years here. And we eat out ALL the time. The filet Mignon, (steak and eggs) was incredible, and the French toast was nothing less. Since we live close, this will become a regular experience for us..I usually don't write reviews, but this one deserved one..A must go....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neontha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mystified by the bad reviews”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Unlike a few other reviewers, we came away from our experience here absolutely transformed. I'm in the restaurant business and, as a result, very intolerant of poor service, food, etc. This was quite the opposite. Everything from our waiter to the pulled pork sandwich was superb. The short drive up from the beach to the misty - even rainy - zen atmosphere of this open-air restaurant was a glorious moment for us. Granted, the cafe was nearly empty, so I can't speak for peak hours, but what we experienced was spot on in every regard. Didn't hear any frogs, but even if I had, it would not have made a difference. For a wedding anniversary memory, it was very, very special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I ate here around Thanksgiving 2012 and came back multiple times on the same trip because the food, staff and setting were so good. Great coffee next door at the cafe also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonnyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lack of service 2 1/2 hours for appetizers”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I understand the concept of :slow food" but when you wait and hour and half for small plates "appetizers" that is just ridiculous. I have been coming to this restaurant for every special occasion that my wife and I celebrate. Tonight was no different 7/2/2013, celebrating our 8th year wedding anniversary. We got sat around 6pm with reservations ordered our food and wine everything was doing great. Got our first order of appetizers "warm brie and brushetta" 15 minutes later. good timing...right?? 20 more minutes pass and then 45 minutes, now its been and hour and 15 minutes..still waiting on the rest of our "small plates""apps" and order of ceasar salad, fresh guacamole salad, sirloin app, and caprese salad. All cold items and one hot item.. and hour and half. Finally after my patience had worn out, talked to the server who has not been to our table since our only food got dropped off nor did she apologized for the long wait. said she'll check on it. I mentioned another pair who sat down 45 minutes after us who already had there salad and eating she replies" thats the only thing they are ordering off the menu" REALLY??? all we ordered was appetizers not to mention cold items. 10minutes later all our food came out at once. Again no apologies or sincereness in her service. I would have been happier and more relax and considerate about the service if she only stopped by the table to check on us, let us know our food is taking awhile or even offered us another glass of wine for the long wait. What started out as a romantic dinner for our anniversary became a disaster. Being a conceirge in the hotel industry, it wouldn't feel right to be recommending such a restaurant to the locals or visitors. very unhappy experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RCBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing