We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way up there!”

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Way up there!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

When you visit the coffee plantations along Mamalahoa Highway make sure to take time and stop at Holuakoa. In amongst the art galleries across from the Pink Hotel in Holualoa, this cafe/restaurant is non-assuming, but take the time to enter the garden and you will have a great experience. The gazebo of the cafe/restaurant is set in a beautiful tropical garden, including a koi pond. The lentil soup was exceptional. Portions are large so consider sharing, even sandwiches! The menu featured local ingredients and presentation was good. Despite the few patrons, the service was slow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandgirl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    148
    37
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Ambiance”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My mom and I had dinner at this restaurant on our birthday trip to Hawaii and loved it. The garden setting was magical and the food was really good. The choices were all innovative and different -- and made with local, fresh ingredients. The drive up to Holualoa is scenic and beautiful, with amazing views of the ocean below. Definitely worth the trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank svrh4463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friso
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants on the island.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'm originally from Frisco, so I've become a food snob, and this place easily makes the cut.
A great excuse to drive up to Holualoa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friscosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Artsy,giant koi pond , local sensibility, causal”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What's not to like? Well maybe the price but once in a while lunch or dinner mauka Kona is refreshing. The place is outdoor with very interesting architecture. The food is well prepared and lunches are generous. The people are friendly. If you are a visitor stroll the galleries and have lunch. If you are a local take a break from town and come up to the cool elevation. For lunch is a huge fancy killer Tuna Melt on home made wood fired bread.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Special occasions only”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was excellent and the garden setting very pleasant. The service was leisurely, and the prices high end. We were not in a hurry, and were treating friends before we flew home later that evening, so it suited us well. But if you are in a hurry or on a budget, you may wish to go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binderr_Dundat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing