We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great, I expected more”

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good but not great, I expected more”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This restaurant came highly recommended by a local so we decided to give it a try. Our iced tea was terrible, tasted like cinnamon and some other spices. The server was very kind and made a new batch of black iced tea for us which was perfect. We shared a salad as an appetizer and it was very tasty. For my entree I selected the mahi mahi, it was extremely dry and lacked flavor. It was disappointing as I tried to eat as much fresh fish while on the island as I possibly could. My partner had the veggie lasagna which I sampled, it was delicious! However, given the local recommendation and the costly menu items, I expected much more by way of quality food. Our service was excellent, the server was very attentive and aimed to please. Based on food alone, I would not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winter_Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    148
    37
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Marino, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Atmosphere wonderful, food disgusting, price outrageous
Will not go back
Could not cut pork chop it was so tough and the waitress had recommended it.
Husband had mahi mahi, but it was covered with so many other ingredients that he could hardly find it. Drinks were very expensive and very weak.

A huge dissapointment and the dinner left us feeling very depressed and upset.
Felt we were taken advantage of with the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12Toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Ia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Put the address in you GPS and head up the mountain to Holuakoa. This is casual outdoor dining at its best. The food is fresh, locally sourced and prepared with love. A brunch menu is offered Tues.-Sun. 10 a.m.-2:30 p.m. and dinner Tues.-Sat. 5:30-8:30 p.m. Wine, beer, and mixed drinks available. Temps. are refreshingly cooler than Kona. Portions are generous; so go hungry. We sampled the pancakes and pulled BBQ'd local pork with cornbread and cabbage-apple slaw - an unusual, but tasty combination. Locavore heaven, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exiled i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great slow food in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This has been the best meal we've had in Hawaii. The pre- fixe lunch menu was a great value for the big island and the food was phenomenal! We loved the open air restaurant ! It was fantastic and our waiter was great, thanks Daniel!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Powellw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden treat”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

this restaurant is hidden away in Holualoa Village and is absolutely first rate from the all natural and creative food to the abiance - take yourself away to this special place

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmeljill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing