We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Whale watching

I highly recommend this company and especially the whale watching excursion. The captain and crew... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
randykathysmith
,
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
via mobile
WE HAD A WHALE OF A TIME!

Absolutely the best! Captain Dan was extremely informative with his narration of the humpback... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Rhonda E
,
Savannah, Georgia
Read all 340 reviews
  
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
245
56
20
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
56
20
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews see whales spinner dolphins whale research the upper deck whale tail whale behavior mother and calf snacks and drinks m ms the big island educational experience honokohau harbor great trip whale foundation answer questions hour trip crew members
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice boat with covered seating for those of us that cannot be in the sun very long. we saw several whales and had dolphin sightings too. Informative information on the whales. several different snacks and drinks along the way. Able to accommodate disabled folks who can walk with help onto the boat.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank tazziazan0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The captain and crew were clearly knowledgeable and passionate about what they do, which was apparent from the way they explained everything and interacted with the passengers. The trip was as much educational as sightseeing, and Captain Dan certainly knows what to look for and how to find the whales and wait for them to surface. We were fortunate to see several whales breach, although they were reluctant to dive...but we still saw a small tail splash. Also saw dolphins and the way they actually interacted with the whales. Quality tour from the moment the captain met us in the parking area and the crew got us lined up to get on the boat. Very convenient departure location relative to Kona. I'd recommend the earlier morning tour...maybe a bit chilly to start but you may not need to reapply sunscreen until you get back. I'd also recommend sitting on the upper level if possible. Don't bring much because you don't need much and there isn't a lot of storage room.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019

This was a great trip! We saw whales and dolphins pretty quickly and then throughout the time on the water! The crew shared lots of knowledge and stories and made "down time" between sightings exciting for our kids. They are definitely dedicated to their jobs and obviously love the whales!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank hillama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

Love Captain Dan and his crew. They’re clearly dedicated to the whales. Boat is great and the presentation is smooth. The prime habitat is almost an hour north of the harbor. If you can find a boat going out of Kawaihae, you’ll get much more for your money.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank davidwW8584VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Our family went on Christmas Eve whale watching excursion and it was wonderful. The captain and crew were very nice and knowledgeable. We got to see a pair of whales several times before heading back in. What a way to spend the day.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Donnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews