We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful tour and the proprietor and staff were extremely friendly and knowledgable!”

Hula Daddy Kona Coffee
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hula Daddy Kona Coffee is the winner of the 2016 Kona Coffee Cupping Competition and the 2015 Hawaii Cupping Competition. Hula Daddy sells roasted coffee beans that have been grown on its own plantation. We offer coffee tasting, farm tours and roasting demonstrations by advance reservation only.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Would highly recommend visiting this coffee farm. This was our first time visiting a coffee farm in HI! Would definitely go back to visit again. The coffee and the chocolate covered expresso beans are wonderful.

Thank Suzi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Aloha Suzi Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come see us again. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 618 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

I tasted it for the first time on this wonderful tour. It is my new favorite tea. It is made from the husk and the pulp of the coffee bean.
There are so many nice things I can say about this tour and coffee tasting (which occurs in this modern large kitchen, right in the plantation house). The view from the plantation house was beautiful. The staff is incredibly nice. They even pulled out some toys for our young children. We bought coffee tea, chocolate covered coffee beans. The best part of my day was when I got the chance to try cupping, which is the equivalent of wine tasting but with coffee. Only thing was that I could not get used to the taste of the coffee - it wasn't for me. Nonetheless, I still recommend you take the time to go on this tour.

Thank EmbarqueMaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Aloha We are so glad that you like our Coffee Berry Tea. It is our newest offering and it has been fun seeing how visitors like it. Please come back and see us on your next trip to the Big Island. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place is cute! The tour is free and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. She showed us the plantation, then the coffee-making process. Coffee was really good, kinda expensive though. The site is located up in the mountains so you will have a nice view of Kailua-kona from their visitor center lobby terrace.

Thank Maestro2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Aloha We are glad you enjoyed your visit and our coffee. We are looking forward to your return. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

What a wonder tour! We liked the presentation and sampling of the different coffees. I especially enjoyed the teas. Don't forget to check out the history of the clock.

Thank Kandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Aloha Kandi

Thank you for taking the time to review Hula Daddy. We enjoyed your visit, and hope you had a good time and learned more about Kona Coffee. Mahalo Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hula Daddy was one of my favorite stops on our vacation. We were headed to the Volcanoes National Park and we decided to stop by based on a pamphlet and a local recommendation. That was the best decision of the day. Since not all of their acreage is located near the visitor center it is somewhat easy to drive past. Thank goodness they have that clock tower.

We got there with a cranky tired toddler in tow. The ladies there offered us coffee immediately and waited while we used the restroom and figured out what was going on. Then they started the tour. One woman started the tour while the other, Chrisina, hung back with me and some others and the toddler at the visitor center. She brewed some coffee in a special way, talked about the plantation and the facilities and treated us like family. The rest of my family was on the tour, which is free. We could see them and hear some of it from the balcony. Chrisina urged us to join when we could. We felt welcome and relaxed, tasted some amazing coffee and learned a lot too. If you are going to stop at one coffee place on the entire island, this should be it.

Thank localbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Aloha Mahalo nui loa for your kind review. We hope you come back soon. Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Daddy Kona Coffee also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hula Daddy Kona Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing