We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kona Coffee”

Hula Daddy Kona Coffee
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Hula Daddy Kona Coffee is the winner of the 2016 Kona Coffee Cupping Competition and the 2015 Hawaii Cupping Competition. We offer coffee tasting, farm tours and roasting demonstrations. Hula Daddy sells roasted coffee beans that have been grown on its own plantation.
Charleston, WV USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Kona Coffee”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've been to Hawaii several times and I was not very impressed by the overly expensive Kona coffee offered for sale nearly everywhere. I am a bit of a coffee fanatic. If I can't have good coffee, I'll do without. I decided on this trip to visit a coffee plantation to learn more about coffee and perhaps tastes some good coffee. We walked into the Hula Daddy tasting room and were immediately offer to try two different coffees. Both were very much to my taste and I bought a pound of each. The short tour was very instructive and interesting. I ordered one more pound of a coffee, not currently available, for future delivery.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michaellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha Michael We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Hula Daddy and liked our coffee. We hope that you return soon and have some more coffee with us. Mahalo Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    96
    14
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Great views of Kona and the coast from the visitor show room. You can take a very informative tour and find out how Hula Daddy makes its highly rated coffee. Very labor intensive-but that is why the coffee is phenomenal. Best coffee I have ever had in my life! I even joined the coffee club- if you appreciate quality coffee then Hula Daddy is for you.

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha Susan

It was great to see you again. We look forward to your next visit. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very happy with the service and product”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's a small and new coffee plantation. The staffs are very kind and knowledgeable. They offer free coffee tasting and free tour to introduce the coffee process and the plantation. I like "Extra Fancy dark roasted" very much. It's very smooth and rich. Too bad they don't have it in stock, will pre-order online :) Oh, and their chocolate covered coffee bean is so yummy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank qshmilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha Thank you for your review. We enjoyed meeting you and hope you visit us on your next trip to the Big Island. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Thank you to previous reviewers”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thanks to many TA reviews we visited Hula Daddy Kona Coffee rather than any of the other choices. Another great excursion and this was my best Hawaiian experience yet. The welcoming attitude, the knowledge and presentation of all staff plus the owners (who were hands on) was unlike anything previously experienced. Each member of staff we encountered took the time to clearly explain their part in the coffee operation and how it all fit together. The tour was extremely educational. This concluded with an excellent coffee and chocolate tasting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha Mahalo nui loa for your review. Please come back again soon. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend Hula Daddy”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Interesting, informative tour; nicely paced. Jennifer was great! Charming building with beautiful views. Best of all, the coffee was delicious! In the roasting room, Laura did an outstanding job of guiding us through the coffee roasting process, which was not only fascinating, but fun! We even bought some of the coffee beans she was roasting while we were there to take home with us. (We took home lots of additional coffee gifts as well!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at Hula Daddy Kona Coffee, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Aloha We apprecite your taking the time to leave a review. Please come see us again soon. Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hula Daddy Kona Coffee also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hula Daddy Kona Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing