We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lilikoi Inn is the ideal place to experience the beauty and hospitality of the Big Island”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“The Lilikoi Inn is the ideal place to experience the beauty and hospitality of the Big Island”
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was my second visit to the Lilikoi Inn. I had such a phenomenal time during my first visit that I had to come back to experience more of the beautiful views, comfy quarters, tasty food, and lively hosts. To say the least, I was not at all disappointed by my choice to return.

The Lilikoi in the perfect getaway for travelers who want to experience the fine hospitality of the Big Island. Owners Trina and Shai are the warmest hosts and have a stunning home to share with travelers. The Inn has a beautiful lanai that overlooks the entire Kona coastline. This wonderfully designed porch is particularly spectacular at sunset. I enjoyed may hours on the lanai taking in the view, reading, playing chess and smelling the fresh coffee growing all around the Inn.

The guest rooms make you feel right at home. Everything you need for a pleasant stay is well within reach. I can guarantee that you will be able to rest easy in this beautiful paradise.

The quality of the food at the Lilikoi Inn sets it apart from other BBs that I have stayed at in the past. Shai is a magnificent cook who used to own a catering business in the San Francisco Bay Area. Since moving to Hawaii, he has infused the natural flavors of the island into many of his dishes that are simply to die for! If you like fresh banana bread, this is certainly the place to stay...I couldn't get enough.

I would certainly recommend the Lilikoi in to anyone who wants to get the most out of their Hawaiian vacation. Whether you stay for a night or an entire week, I can assure you that you will create many wonderful memories at the Lilikoi Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skateflyer172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
66
345
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Inn with a few good friends towards the end of our stay on the Big Island, and I really wish we had checked in sooner. Trina and Shai were incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable about all the island has to offer.

The place has the feel of staying with your favorite relatives, from the amazing food that Shai prepares daily (I still fantasize about the fresh egg frittata and Shai's special spicy sauce), to the wonderful stories they regale you with. It was a great home base to come back to and take a dip in the hot tub after all our adventures on the island. I was really sad to go.

Definitely recommend this place, especially if you like a home-like feel and are traveling in a group in need of multiple rooms.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchaca, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We were greeted by Shai and a tour of the grounds and house, followed by wonderful smoothies. We stayed in the Green Papaya room for 3 nights, and the room was decorated in a very tranquil theme and had a nice spacious bathroom. It only got better from there. Our breakfasts each morning consisted of the freshest fruit, eggs, avocado and juice that were all from the property and were masterly prepared by Shai the chef . The Kona coffee was made from coffee beans harvested on site and was delighful as well, according to my husband. I do not drink coffee, so Shai made me herbal tea each morning instead. Trina and Shai gave us suggestions on which beaches we should go to and sights we should see. We were made to feel at home, and the location was just secluded enough to be very relaxing, yet only about 15 minutes away from Alli Drive, for shopping, etc. We definitely recommend The Lilikoi Inn for a great experience on the Big Island and look forward to returning to see Trina, Shai, Lilli, Nanny, Teddy, and Decaf again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enderjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I am sitting on the Veranda sipping my second cup of dark rich Kona coffee and munching on fresh avocado and papaya and a gourmet omelet. Huge trees surround me like a jungle with a large slice of ocean opening to the east. The weather is perfect. My wife and I have just awakened from a comfortable night's sleep in the Lilikoi Room. Trina has advised us where to go for snorkling and other adventures. Her husband and co-owner, Shai, has prepared an incredible breakfast. Most of the delicious breakfast came from Shai's own coffee and fruit trees, garden and chickens. That's what I call home-grown! This place was perfection in paradise.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicinmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in the Green Papaya room, and I wish we'd spent our whole trip here. The room was large, clean and modern. The View from the lanai was breathtaking. The location was perfect; secluded but still only a short drive to town, restaurants and beaches. They had anything you might need (beach towels/chairs, boogie boards, kitchen access, DVDs, laundry, books, games and more.) Shai was so friendly and helpful. He made an amazing breakfast each morning which included fruits and coffee from their grounds. He created a great atmosphere and made the stay at the Inn an experience on its own. I can't recommend this place enough, and will stay here next time I visit the big Island.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_JandJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights at the Lilikoi Inn, located in the cool refreshing air about 1600' above Kailua-Kona, Hi. Our host and hostess, Shai and Trina could not have been more warm or hospitable. Shai even greeted us when we drove up and grabbed our luggage like we were long lost relatives. You really feel as though you've come to a second home in paradise with the pampering and personal attention.

We booked the Lilikoi room on the second floor where the breakfast lanai and guest kitchen are located. The room was tastefully appointed, even with a fresh tropical bouquet to welcome our stay including fresh fruit smoothies made by Shai.

The breakfasts started with delicious coffee made from their home grown beans and fresh tropical fruit. The banana pancakes, served with homemade lilikoi syrup were the best I've ever eaten!!!! From the frittata to other creative, delicious dishes we were always
impressed with Shai's culinary skills. We had the pleasure of joining them for one of their monthly special dinner's. This month it was a 5-course Indian dinner, complete with authentic live music. The food was marvelous and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting some of their friends from the island.

It was very obvious to us that both Shai and Trina enjoyed making their guest's stays memorable. We can't wait to return to the Lilikoi Inn.

Big hugs and thanks for a fantastic experience.

Doug and Carol

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-n-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I was late in booking a place to stay for my trip to the big island and just happened to find the Lilikoi Inn. I'm so glad I did. Great place in all ways, and Trina and Shai are very friendly and helpful people. Breakfast was amazing everyday we were there. We actually ended up changing our plans for the last days of our trip so we could stay for a couple more nights at the Lilikoi Inn. The location is really good, far enough away from town to be quiet but still a very short drive into Kona. I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to the Big Island.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
25.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.8 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Property: Lilikoi Inn
Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing