We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't have stayed anywhere else”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I stayed at the Lilikoi in for a week and it was truly amazing! The home is beautiful and has the most amazing view I've ever seen. Trina and Shai were super warm, friendly, and generous. Shai also made some of the best food I've ever had. If you stay anywhere else on the Big Island you're missing out. I'd go back in a hearbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahmmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 589 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

I can't say enough great things about Lilikoi and Shai and Trina's tremendous hospitality. During my time there they were attentive and gracious, always eager to recommend excellent spots on the island. The location couldn't have been more perfect as nothing was ever more than a short drive away. And after a great day relaxing on the beach or exploring other parts of the island, the lanai at Lilikoi was the perfect spot to relax and watch the sun set over the Pacific Ocean. Shai's outstanding skills in the kitchen were evident and every breakfast was a culinary masterpiece. My experience at Lilikoi was above and beyond anything I could have ever hoped for and I can safely say that I only regret not staying longer. If you're headed to the Hawaii, hop on over to the Big Island and stop in at the Lilikoi Inn and stay for a while...Shai and Trina will welcome you with open arms!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdwatcher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This B&B did not have many reviews when we booked it, but we took a chance because it looked nice on their website. The price was very reasonable compared to the other place we were looking at in the area. We were treated kindly like family when we stayed. Our only complaints are out of the owners control. The chickens woke us up very early with their crowing in the morning (4am) and the ugly junk along the side of the narrow approach road ruins the ambiance on the way up. We stayed in the Lilikoi room and it was very large with a nice view.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountaineerTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

I read the TripAdvisor reviews before making my reservation, and they were right on. Shai and Trina are great hosts. Breakfasts were yummy and mostly sourced from the B&B property. Fresh eggs from the chickens, Kona coffee which Shai picked, tree ripened avocados (so much better than what I can get here in Boston). And the setting... "Marvelous" is an understatement. Trina got us tickets to an Hawaiian Mother's day show. Performers included leading Hula dancers and Hawaiian vocalists. Quite enjoyable. And Trina was one of the dancers! Not bad for someone who came to Kona via New York, Massachusetts, Israel and California. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend. Hopefully, next time.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We loved this B&B! Trina & Shai were friendly, caring & knowledgeable. In the mornings we woke to birdsong. The views and the grounds are beautiful. The hot tub is a delight on cool nights. And the food is amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latifafital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed three nights and everything exceeded all our expectations. Trina and Shai were so hospitable - we felt like honored guests the entire time. Everything was great: fresh, gourmet breakfast every morning, and coffee that's grown and roasted on the premises. Our foodie hosts knew the best restaurants in town and had great recommendations for any activity on the island. The rooms are clean and modern, and the bed was very comfortable. There was also abundant fruit on the property free for the taking, including delicious avocados. We regretted not booking our entire vacation with them when we left, and will definitely return . . .

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kateand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

If the Big Island of Hawaii is paradise on earth, then the Lilikoi Inn is a slice of heaven nestled deep into it's mountain.

Aptly named, this lovely bed and breakfast exudes nothing but passion. Everything has been thought of to make your stay truly heavenly. From its perfect location high on the mountain overlooking Kona's perfect sunsets to its large, comfortable and well appointed rooms (each decorated around a tropical theme), this bed and breakfast is simply put, perfection on earth.

One can while away the hours on the enormous varandah (or lanai) listening to the sounds of the mountain forest calling or wander the perfectly lush grounds, brimming with tropical fruits and colours.

Proprietors Trina and Shai have created this slice of heaven with the guests' comfort and pleasure in mind. Award-winning chef Shai concocts amazing meals using fresh ingredients from the garden he so passionately cultivates and hostess Trina is a fountain of local knowledge. She'll guide you to the best beaches and viewing spots around the island. She'll lend a helping hand in understanding local traditions and music and she has included everything a traveler looking to relax at the inn will ever need. Staying at the Lilikoi Inn is more like staying with family than being a guest at some quaint B&B for this is no ordinary inn.

In Hawaiian, lilikoi is a passion fruit and the Lilikoi Inn reflects the fruits of the proprietor's passion for their business: your total enjoyment, relaxation and the pursuit of inner peace.

If your destination is the big island, stay nowhere else, for the Lilikoi Inn complements the beauty and diversity of the island in total harmony.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank koppel_phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
179 reviews
49.0 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
535 reviews
11.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $203 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing