We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-Friendly Paradise”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Eco-Friendly Paradise”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I spent 1 week at the Lilikoi Inn for our honeymoon in the middle of July. We absolutely loved this place! It is perfectly located in the Kona coffee belt and only 10 minutes from the beaches of kona.

The hosts, Trina and Shai are like no other. They truly provide an authentic Hawaiian experience and treat each guest as a personal friend. Shai creates an amazing breakfast every morning using only local ingredients from his own farm and of course, his own coffee! Trina keeps the guests entertained by explaining the Hawaiian culture and suggesting the best places to see and experience on the Big Island.

The accommodations are great with private rooms, amazing lanai, access to hot tub and outdoor shower, and best the breakfast on Big Island.

I would highly recommend the Lilikoi Inn for singles and couples who want an authentic Hawaiian experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
65
341
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a gay couple, we are used to courteous and efficient but not always warm and friendly. Shai and Trina welcomed us with hugs and fruit smoothies and could not have been more gracious. They provided excellent knowledge of the area including great places to go birding and snorkeling. The breakfasts are outstanding: delicious fresh fruit and house made granola, coffee grown and roasted from their own trees, avocados grown on their property, and that, literally was only half of it. Just when you think you're done, here comes an omelet made from fresh eggs laid by the free range chickens that roam the property. A few pieces of advice: GPS has it's signals crossed. We actually had to drive about 2 miles further up the road to reach the location and the sign for the inn is hard to see. We were also told that some people were intimidated by the driveway which is indeed a doozy. Very steep and, if you come at night, pitch black (which of course provides for great stargazing). Don't worry. What lies at the end is a delight. Thanks Trina and Shai for your graciousness and if we ever get to that part of the world again, we'll be sure to come back. Warm regards, Michael and Mark Ing

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lilikoi Inn was a great experience! Trina and Shai were excellent hosts giving us great suggestions to enhance our plans for each day along with information about the culture of Hawaii. Shai's culinary skills were fantastic as he combined with skills with the resources of the farm which provided many fresh fruits, vegetables, and coffee. My personal favorite was the avocado sprinkled with Shai's special seasonings that we used as a spread on bread. The avocado's were the size of our cantaloupes we have in Ohio! In addition, the hot tub and shower with natural "shower curtains" provided a nice touch. Their location provided easy access to other parts of the Island while being close to the Kona Airport. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapoho
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

First time in 30 yrs in hawaii in b&d and it reminded me of the ancient Hawaiian way of aloha and hospitality.No locked doors more delicious food than you can eat and what we call talk story with people from other countries and cultures.Shai & Trina have created a beautiful bit of old hawaii .Mahalo Nui loa Gary&Edie Kapoho island of Hawaii

Room Tip: If you want a view upstairs, if you like the beauty of the tropical forest down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The people, the food and the view of the Kona coast are all spectacular at the Lilikoi B & B. The guest rooms are quiet and recently remodeled with private baths, but don't miss the outdoor shower and hot tub down the path by the garden. Shai and Trina are great hosts and have plenty of advice about what to see and where else to stay on the Big Island of Hawaii.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casedavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fabulous view, fabulous food, fabulous people! This was my first time in Hawaii at a conference and unfortunately I ended up on crutches and unable to drive around. However if ever you are stranded, this is the place to do it! Seriously Shai and Trina showed me extreme kindness during this predicament and I would have no hesitation in going back to stay again. Over a huge and healthy breakfast I listened whilst Shai provided other guests with recommendations on where to go and how to get there. When the guests returned in the evening the directions and recommendations had always been spot on. As for me I whiled away my days ensconced in a comfortable lounger on the lanai overlooking the coast. The evenings were nicely cool and just right for sleeping. WiFi, TV and smoothies added to the 'home away from home' atmosphere. I managed to get down to the jacuzzi one day and this was lovely...in amongst the trees and a peaceful, relaxing soak. Thanks Shai and Trina for making my eventful trip so much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I visited the Big Island 3 years ago and had such a wonderful stay with Trina and Shai, that I adjusted my plans so I could spend a few days with them again. As usual, Shai prepared a most wonderful breakfast each morning and the conversations with both of them was most enjoyable. The stay at Lilikoi Inn is one that feels more like visiting old friends than just a stay at a B&B. I shall return not only for the hospitality, but to have a wonderful meal prepared by Shai in the brick oven he is building in the backyard. Mahalo again Trina and Shai. I will see you in a couple of years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhs9596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
25.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
2.8 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
291 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Property: Lilikoi Inn
Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing