We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Hawaii Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
“Real Hawaii Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at the Lilikoi Inn. Shai and Trina are friendly, kind, and generous hosts. The Inn is nestled in the hillside surrounded by jungle but with stunning views of the beaches and ocean. I love that their property is covered with all kinds of tropical plants from vines to guava trees, avocados and bananas, coffee and of course lilikoi. I had never tasted freshly picked guava or passion fruit and the flavors were really incredible.

The land also serves as a coffee farm and Shai also raises chickens and serves much of the fruit grown on the property to guests. The whole experience was so different from a highrise hotel or resort. It was refreshing. I felt like I was getting a real Hawaii experience instead of seeing only touristy attractions.

Shai and Trina are always working to improve the Inn. While I was there Shai and his son were building a pizza oven (see picture). I cannot wait to see what pizzas or other creations Shai will make using the oven. During my visit Shai and Trina were so kind and made me feel like part of their family. I'm really looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lucien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
331
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here three nights in December- overall good experience but as seasoned B&B goers, we've been to better.

Pros:
-very sweet couple hosting
-beautiful views
-gourmet island breakfast
-clean spacious room

Cons:
-no heating so the room was cold at night!
-thin walls- took awhile to sleep due to next door room noise
-very steep windy drive up to the house- can be scary if not used to driving up narrow curves and really dark at night with no lights
-a good 10-15 min outside the main beach/town area- next time would stay a little closer
-breakfast is strict at 8 or 830 so sleeping in is tough when on vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santhi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently made a driving trip from East Hawai'i Hilo side to West Hawai'i Kona side. The day flew by and I felt a need to rest and stay overnight before returning to Hilo. They are usually full w/ bookings, but what luck to find they had one vacancy. I got the same warm welcome w/ all the trimmings, including Shai's inimitable papaya/ginger smoothie. Breakfast was a delectable omelette, fruit dishes w/ his unique Lilikoi yogurt, and buttery, luscious giant avocado creation was on the breakfast table. As always, enjoyed with Shai's personally grown, picked, and roasted coffee. His creativity never ceases. He was already imagining and planning the next day's breakfast surprise. By the way, the room was quiet and comfy for a great night's sleep. So... if you are making a trip to Kona over the holiday or even next year, make your first inquiry be this unforgettable B&B. It just doesn't get any better than this, folks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
thanks so much for coming again, we hope to see you again next year!
Have a great holiday season!
with aloha,
Trina and Shai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amity, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is an outstanding place to enjoy all that the big island, Hawaii has to offer. The surroundings, view, breakfasts and the welcoming hosts made our trip perfect. We enjoyed locally grown coffee, fruit and fresh eggs with the wonderful bay view out over the jungle like trees and flowering shrubs. Shai is a natural innkeeper !!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Torch Ginger room and though small was all we needed since we were out of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Incredible location, views and hospitality. Very memorable time at the Lilikoi. Thank you, to Shia who was a terrific host to the Island. He was very hospitable and knowledgable on all of the local places in Hawaii. We couldn't believe the fresh guava, avacados, passion fruit and bananas they grew in the gardens. The property was a dream, the only complaint we had was that we had to leave. Thanks Lilikoi!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Thank you Lilikoi Inn for the wonderful time we had. For all the info you gave us, the yummy breakfast. One see's the hard work and passion put in everything you do to take care of your guests. Hat's off !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Such great hospitality, you feel very special, gourmet breakfast, home grown coffee, kind, entertaining and knowledgeable hosts. Sit on the lanai surrounded by tropical forest, birds singing and a view that goes on forever.

Room Tip: Lilikoi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvertheMoon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
25.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Property: Lilikoi Inn
Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing