We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lilikoi Inn
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
$279
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,016
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$809
$509
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
563
43
9
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
43
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslilikoipassion fruithome grownkona coffeehot tubevery morningb bthe big islandcoffee grownguest kitchenwonderful hostsother guestsfruit treesgreen papayakona coastmain lanaicoffee beans
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 623 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a long overdue review to RAVE about the Lilikoi. Trina and Shai are wonderful hosts, and clearly take joy in what they do. The grounds of the inn are breathtaking, and Shai will show you how to pick ripe lilikoi (passion fruit) right off of the ground where they fall and eat them. Heaven.

They give great directions to wherever you need to go; we never got lost. When we asked about good beaches, Shai recommended Kua Bay, which was exactly what we were looking for.

Shai's breakfasts are delicious and filling without being too heavy, and the coffee is amazing.

What's nice about the inn is that it's in a great location for getting to sights and activities, but it's removed from the hustle and bustle of Kona town. So, after a long day of enjoying the island, you can come back and feel at peace and relaxed (the hot tub doesn't hurt).

We recommend this place HIGHLY. We'll never stay anywhere else when we visit the Big Island (which will be soon, hopefully!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cultiver83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is fantastic. We stayed 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and I wished we stayed longer. The owners are incredibly kind & hospitable with lots of great knowledge on where to go & what to do on the island. A lot of fruit at breakfast is picked from the property as well as the coffee which tastes great!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holley18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A house built on a volcano in the middle of a jungle. Whats not to like. Watching the jungle try to take over the garden was fascinating. The breakfast was amazing as it had generally fallen off of the trees that morning, although the coffee (grown in the garden) was the real high point. I have never come across better B&B hosts with such a wealth of knowledge about the area.

In fact the only difficult thing is the drive up to the house, it can be quite challenging.

The rooms were great, the balcony was really nice, looking out over the ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoreanFreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited in October 2012. The owners are amazing. They're friendly and fun and gave us the best advice on what to see and where to eat while we were visiting. The breakfasts are second-to-none, delicious and huge portions! Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the view from the property is stunning. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

You never quite know what you are going to get at a B&B until you arrive. The Lilikoi Inn is set in a beautiful, lush tropical rainforest and coffee plantation with fantastic views from the lanai out to the ocean. On arrival, Trina made us feel very welcome and we sipped on a delicious fruit smoothie courtesy of Shai as we chatted. We stayed in the Green Papaya room, which is large, comfortable and private. Shai's breakfasts were unsurpassed in excellence, taste and presentation and so varied (& generous) - we did not need to worry about lunch! It is an opportunity to meet with people from all over the world. In September of this year, when we visited, there was a couple from New York, a couple from The Netherlands and we are from Australia.
Trina and Shai are passionate about making their guests time at Lilikoi memorable in every way. Little touches, like Hawaiian music in the background as you dine. They have a kitchen which guests can use for cooking and a fridge. Trina & Shai know all the places that are a must see on the Big Island and you drive off for the day armed with suggestions and directions. Shai told us to ring him if we needed to (we did). Two highlights for us was the Kekai State Park beach and Kiholo Bay, presumably one of the islands best kept secrets, since we saw dozens of turtles, but not tourists.
In summary, if you want a spotlessly clean, quiet, well run, friendly B&B with food to die for, Lilikoi Inn ticks all the boxes. We have travelled extensively and stayed at many B&B's but this one is outstanding and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews