We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and wonderful hosts”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at Lilikoi Inn this month for two weeks, and it's a wonderful place!! I saw the great reviews and I said, why not?
The view is really beautiful, there're lots of plants, flowers, banana trees, two lovely cats and one friendly dog.
The breakfasts are amazing!! The coffee is home made by Shai. You can see the coffee plants from the house, and also the avocado and lilikoi trees.
The hosts, Trina and Shai are a wonderful couple, they tell you the best places to visit. The ones, you don't find in the travel guides.
There's a hot tub too. You can see the beautiful Hawaii Sunset while you're taking a bath in the hot tub.
The bedrooms are clean, and the weather there is great for sleeping, not like downtown in Kona where it's hotter.
And there's no noise. You only hear the sound of the nature (birds, chickens...)

What else can I say? Lovely place, wonderful hosts, great breakfast, amazing views...
You should really go to Lilikoi Inn. If I ever go to the Big Island Again, I will go to Lilikoi Inn for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martuka84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Lilikoi Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 573 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful time. We all loved the fabulous treats (fresh fruit smoothies, papaya with homemade granola and yogurt, veggie fritatta, kona coffee, Hawaiian teas...). YUM!!! We also appreciate all of the information about the area you were able to share with us. The directions to the unmarked beach were especially appreciated!!! Your home is welcoming and comfortable and we enjoyed it as well as the surrounding property filled with fruit trees. We hope to be able to visit again - soon! :) THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michiganbeekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Outstanding B&B. Quiet natural setting with beatiful sunsets seen from the veranda or the hot tub. Breakfasts were spectacular and all homemade. Kona coffee is so smooth and comes from the inn's grounds. This place is a must stay. You will want to extend your stay here so plan for it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocVAngleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Lilikoi Inn is a wonderful spot on the Big Island. It is located close enough to the urban area of Kailua Kona but not too close. The owners, Trina & Shai are such friendly, welcoming couple. Breakfast became the highlight of the day, sitting on the lanai overlooking Kona Bay, and having a huge breakfast that kept us happy all day! I fully recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achibenshalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Located on three acres, the Yerlicks provide hillside accommodations with an expansive view of Kona. Note: It can get a little tricky coming down the hill. Be extra careful!

The Yerlick’s grow many of their own produce on the Inn's property including Kona coffee, bananas, papaya, passion fruit, and even raise chickens.

Shai Yerlick utilize many of their homegrown items in his great tasting meals. We spent only one night, on our way through Kona and had the experience of enjoying his breakfast (basil and tomato frittata with guacamole spread on toasted French baguettes).

The property provides four rooms. We stayed in the Torch Ginger room, a small room, which was satisfactory for the night and I believe the only room which provides an option to be arrange as two twin beds. However, not many travelers may have requested this arrangement as dust bunnies where noted when the trundle was pulled out.

The house has a great lanai (Hawaiian covered porch). Since the property is located at a higher elevation temperatures are cooler then if you were at the coast. We especially enjoyed meeting other guest staying at the Inn who had traveled from Northern Japan.

The Inn can be difficult to find, but if you like seclusion this may be your type of place.

Your in Kona coffee country so take a tour of the of the plantations, try the coffee tasting and enjoy your stay on the Big Island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eng_tlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We had a wonderful time staying here, and Shai and Trina were great hosts. Shai's breakfasts (and smoothies!) were absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Lilikoi Room, which was a beautiful and comfortable room. The views were incredible and it was nice to be up in the hills with such a great view of the coastline. Definitely a place to visit again!
-Elizabeth and Joel

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabeth2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed here for a week and a half during April. The rooms are very nice and the food is great. Up on the hill when the inn is, the temperature is more comfortable than in town. Makes for a better nights rest.

Shai makes very delicious hearty breakfasts. Great cook! He won't let you go hungry. Many of the ingredients in the meals and the fruit served is local. I even had bananas, grapefruit, passion fruit, and avocado grown right on the grounds.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnH05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
20.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $202 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa
Lilikoi Inn Holualoa, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing