We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in beautiful Holualoa town”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Above Kona at 1000ft is a 5 star luxury Inn/B&B that exceeded our expectations. Holualoa is know for the world's best coffee farms/Hawaiian artisans and tranquility on the slopes of Hualalei Volcano. We stayed at the newly renovated Darryl Hill cottage for the Festival of Lights. This cottage is truly special. No detail is left without thought, yet it was relaxing, comfortable and has gorgeous views of the ocean. Some of my favorite things were the two minute walk to the Inn for the pool and common rooms and also two minutes to one of my favorite Big Island restaurants Holuakoa cafe. The 5 star luxury is found in the elegant multithread count bedding, high end kitchen, to beautiful hand made furniture and the details. Details like a bag of the Inn's own Kona coffee, fig preserves and Olive oli soaps. We also loved the homemade granola, a basket of Hawaiian specialty fruits, baked treats and fully equipped kitchen. It's not an inexpensive place to stay but we were happy to find it was well worth it and we'll be back!

Room Tip: The cottage is for tranquility, beauty and privacy. Select the cottage if you want your own space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was our pleasure to host you and we were honored that you chose to spend your anniversary with us. We are thrilled to know you found our Darrell Hill cottage tranquil and comfortable, and that you enjoyed all the gifts from our land - the coffee, fig preserves and granola. We strive to provide sanctuary for our guests and so appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review. A hui hou and ho'okahikahi ke aloha, Kat and your Holualoa Inn ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 307 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holualoa Inn this last week, December 22nd to 29th, 2013. This is, without doubt, the best place you could stay if you are on the big island. I would not recommend this to people with children who want waterslides and the like, but for a couple who want a relaxing and very high-class experience, this is the perfect location.

We were wonderfully looked after by all the staff, who made us feel completely welcome. It has an intimate, almost family, feel to it and everything is done with care.

Breakfasts were excellent, and the room we stayed in (Plumeria) was quiet and very comfortable. The staff offered us lots of help in booking activities and restaurant bookings, and are some of the nicest people one could hope to meet.

I cannot express enough how much I enjoyed staying at the Holualoa Inn.

Room Tip: Note: there is NO fitness center, but I don't want their rating to drop. The fitness center IS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diablo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are thrilled to read that your time here was quiet and relaxing. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, and for calling us your favorite Big Island bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you home again in the future. A hui hou and happy holidays, Kat and your Holualoa Inn Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii, a celebration of my husband's 70th birthday! The Inn listed as a top choice in two travel guides and we decided we wanted to try a B and B rather than a big hotel on the beach. This Inn is located in a tiny village inthe mountains! I want to say that as beautiful as the pictures of the Inn are on the web site, the Inn is more beautiful in person. As soon as you arrive on property, the tranquility and peacefulness of the place overtakes you. Just today, 6 months later, my husband said again, the Holualoa Inn is the most beautiful place we have ever stayed. A word about the staff, they were wonderful and as helpful as they could be ( Hi Steve and Crystal!). When we visited, there were two honeymoon couples ( one coupled was married at the Inn the day before we arrived!) which contributed to the joy of our experience.
Joanne and Bruce Delmar New York

Room Tip: There are only a few inns at the room. call the Innkeeper and explain what you are looking for, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Mahalo nui loa for posting such a wonderful review. We strive to provide a peaceful retreat for our guests so we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Inn's serenity. We were honored that you chose Holualoa Inn for such a special occasion and we look forward to welcoming you home. A hui hou, Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Holualoa Inn is just perfect, whether you are a single person, a couple or a family. The property is magnificent, tastefully decorated, with excellent room/suites, views over the ocean and a great swimming pool. Restaurants or gold courses are surplus to requirements. The breakfast is opulent, and you have many options to eat out in the vicinity. The management will help you with any plans. It is called a bed and breakfast, but a luxury bed and breakfast ...

Room Tip: We werw a group of 3 adults, and the Plumeria Suite was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you home once more. A hui hou, Kathryn & your Holualoa Inn Ohana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were very well taken care of during our two night stay as part of our honeymoon trip to the big island. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, with a nice sitting area, huge stone shower, and big closet (we had the Plumeria Suite), with easy access to the pool area. The pool itself was wonderful, refreshingly cool with beautiful tile mosaic, and the most amazing view of Kona town, the ocean, and breathtaking sunsets.

The food was great - a variety of snacks and drinks every afternoon starting at 4pm, and really phenomenal breakfasts. Both mornings we had fruit plates with 5-6 different types of tropical fruit grown right on the property; you can't get any more farm-to-table than that! Service was friendly and very helpful, and the coffee (grown on property) was wonderful!

Our stay was not quite long enough to take advantage of everything the inn had to offer - a great yoga space, comfy tv room, even a full guest kitchen and outdoor BBQ should we have wanted to cook for ourselves at any point. We did get to hike around the property among the fruit trees and coffee plants, which was a lot of fun.

The location is nice too - Holualoa is a small town, but there are some fun galleries to explore, and Holuakoa Cafe and Gardens is a short walk away for coffee or for dinner. You feel like you're far away in a remote location, but in reality you are less than a 10 minute drive from shops and restaurants in Kona, and there are some great restaurants and snorkeling spots an easy drive down the Kona coast. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious. Choose the Plumeria Suite (downstairs) to be close to the pool, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to know that you had a "perfect honeymoon" experience at the Inn and it was our pleasure to welcome you "home," even if only for a couple of nights. We look forward to seeing you again; perhaps you'll celebrate an anniversary with us in the future. Much mahalo, Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I recently honeymooned on the Big Island and stayed at the Holualoa Inn. We knew we didn't want to stay at a big resort, and we also knew we didn't want to stay anywhere where there would be children around. The Holualoa Inn was just the ticket. We found it suggested in a travel book and made our reservation solely based off of the travel book's recommendation. Upon arrival at the inn, we were greeted with a cool towel and a glass of (freshly squeezed) mango juice to refresh ourselves after our long flight.

The inn is absolutely stunning. From the open-air, open-concept floor plan, to the comfortable, modernized, and eco-friendly rooms, to the perfectly manicured grounds that are full of many varieties of lush tropical plants for you to explore and enjoy. The view of the ocean and Kona is panoramic with a gorgeous sunset ever night, guaranteed.

The innkeepers are the most sincerely friendly people I have ever met. They are always ready to help you plan your adventure for the day if you'd like a little "local advice", or give you gardening tips on how to keep your orchids looking spectacular just like all of theirs; however, they never impose on your private time. The breakfasts were out-of-this-world. Crystal is a fabulous chef and an extraordinarily kind and gracious lady. She made us something different every day and each meal she prepared was absolutely delicious. And the picnic lunches she packed were also very tasty, filling, and nutritious!

We could not have asked for a more perfect honeymoon! We sincerely did not want to leave at the end of our stay and when we go back, I am certain that we'll stay at the Holualoa Inn. Everyone made us feel so welcome and calm. The Holualoa Inn is truly a GEM!

If I had to pick 5 words to describe the inn, they would be: quiet, organic, homey, eco-centric, peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay at Holualoa Inn and that you explored our gardens and the galleries in Holualoa Village. It means so much to us that you found our breakfasts, lunches and snacks delicious and that you felt relaxed and comfortable. Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We'll look forward to welcoming you home again, perhaps for an anniversary celebration. A hui hou and ho'okahikahi ke aloha (be one in love), Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Everything is perfect at Holualoa, hence the reason we keep returning. The attention to detail, the service, the incredible fresh food and coffee, comfortable beds. Every need is anticipated and addressed. The inn itself is to die for and only surpassed by the staff. By far, the best place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Much mahalo for posting another wonderful review. We appreciate your taking the time almost as much as we enjoy having you "home" each year. Looking forward to celebrating your 12th anniversary, Big Island style. Much love and aloha from your Holualoa Inn ohana. Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
14.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
2.8 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
588 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: $434 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing