We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holualoa Inn
Nearby Hotels
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$189
$179
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$279
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$288
$279
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,016
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$809
$509
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
294
18
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
18
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgardenia suitecoffee plantationb bthe big islandworks of artsitting roomkona coastprivate residencecommon areasprivate hot tubother guestsfruit treesour honeymoonprivate homeeach morningginger roomguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 324 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Get your Big Island sightseeing outta the way before you land in this amazing place! Because once you get here, you'll never want to leave! I can't think of a better way to end a vacation. From the moment you see the inn's inviting sign and meander down the beautiful, lush bordered drive to the open air entrance of this wonderful inn, you'll think you've come home... but will never feel the stress. The grounds are perfectly manicured, the views are incredible and the staff is simply outstanding. What more could you ask for? Todd, Bess, Steven, Cat and Crystal could not do enough to insure our comfortable stay. From delicious, fresh AND healthy breakfasts and snacks to great advice and assistance in making dinner and adventure reservations to just plain pleasant and fun small talk with a keen sense for those who preferred their own personal space. They've simply thought of everything, including beach supplies all the way from chairs, mats, snorkel gear and even sun tan lotion! When is the last time your hotel supplied you with sun tan lotion??? If you want to experience the true meaning of Aloha, don't miss this place!

Room Tip: Coffee Cherry Room has it's own entrance. Very roomy and inviting.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goin4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We send our warmest “Mahalo & Aloha” for your amazing review. It gives us “chicken skin” (goose bumps) to read your generous comments and to know you had an awesome time! You two are very special to us as well. We all had a great time with your fun sense of humor and gusto for life. We hope you’ll be able to come back “home” soon. Until then, keep your pants on straight and never stop laughing. Thank you for adding such fun and richness to our lives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We really enjoyed this inn. The people, extraordinary building and the location all make it a memorable experience. And did I mention the coffee? The only downside was the weather which was cloudy or rainy in the afternoons following crystal clear mornings. I got the impression that the weather was worse than average but not unusual for the time of year. Lucky the inn was so great. I only hope I will have the opportunity to go back some time.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank tim200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We’re happy to know you enjoyed your memorable experience at the Inn. The weather is one of the few things we can’t control, but we are working on it. We love our European guests, especially since you travel so far to visit us. We look forward to your next visit back “home” with lots of sunshine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is such an exceptional Inn! We spent several days here, and felt it was one of the most special places we have ever stayed. We were greeted with such warm and genuine aloha from the staff. The inn and grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. Your every wish thought of ahead of time. You can have a massage in open air gazebo, grab a couple of boogie boards and beach towels and head of to the beach, relax by the pool, or stroll in the gardens.

We stayed in the beautiful Gardenia Room, with it's gorgeous views of the Kona coastline. The decorations are unique; you know are in a tropical paradise. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, we couldn't get enough of the Kona coffee, grown right on the inn grounds. We loved it so much we order it online to have at home, and are reminded of our special time at the Holualoa Inn every time we brew a cup!

I simply run out of superlatives trying to describe this special place. Thank you to Noelani for her warmth and kindness during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqulin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We agree the Inn’s 5,100 coffee trees produce some of the best Kona Coffee around. It’s the peak of picking season and the coffee beans are as fresh as ever. We’re excited to know you experienced the best the Inn has to offer. Wishing you a Happy New Year and hoping you come back “home” soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am going to do my best possible written recap of our stay at Holualoa Inn, but its going to be no where close to reality. My wife and I came here on the end of our 2 week Hawaii trip and stayed for 3 nights in the Coffee Cherry Room. From the moment we waled in, to the time we left, we were treated with love, respect and like family. The staff at the Inn were some of the nicest people we have ever met, and really took good care of us and other guests. In addition to soaking up the amazing views, you will soak in the most amazing coffee and delicious breakfasts, which are always a surprise and a gastronomical journey your tastebuds are going to love. Some of the things we loved while at the Inn were the awesome grill, where you can buy yummy local fish and grill fro dinner. Watching the sunset and the amazing snacks and desserts that are made available to all guests. You will not go wrong staying here, and will have a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Get the Coffee Cherry room if you want access to the hot tub
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohanpdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

It’s a joy to work at the Inn. The entire team says “Mahalo” for discovering and enjoying all the Inn has to offer. We love when our guests have a great time and create incredible memories. Your photos are beautiful! We look forward to your return “home” soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

In our planning and communications months before our trip we felt that Holualoa Inn had to be special and we couldn't wait to see if our feelings and research were on track. We were celebrating our anniversary and both of our birthdays, so we searched high and low to find the "right" place and did we ever!!!
From the moment we turned off into the driveway and meandered our way through the gorgeous grounds of this coffee estate we thought we had arrived at our "home away from home". That was indeed confirmed when we were greeted some warmly and cheerfully through the kitchen window by Cat. We once again knew that Holualoa Inn was beyond special and amazing.
The grounds and home are unbelieveable--every detail, every decision has been thought of and you do truly feel that you are staying with special friends in their home.
We hesitate to use the term "staff" because everyone who works at Holualoa Inn must have been chosen so carefully not only for their fabulous skills and personalities, but it's so very evident that this amazing group of people have created a culture of cooperation and family within their environment and with each other. They are so special that I called the week of our return home to share with Cat how much they all made our trip and to let them know that we missed them all.
Thank you so much Cat, Steve, Crystal, and so many more who made our stay at Holualoa Inn one of the highlights of our 3 week trip to the Hawaiian islands.
Crystal's gourmet breakfasts were not only outstanding, but beautiful as well. It's difficult to say which was the best since we loved all of them.
When you go (not if) know that you will be taken care of in every single way--directions, recommendations, reservations, wonderful snacks and beverages, a fridge and washer/dryer for guests to name a few.
Holualoa Inn is located in the small arts village of Holualoa with fabulous views of the Kona coast below--a great location out of the huba buba of Kona, but a reasonable ride to shops and restaurants. We will say that probably the best place we ate during our 5 night stay was within walking distance of the inn--so island casual and such good food with fresh local ingredients that we ate there 3 times.
As you can tell we loved Holualoa and the wonderful "staff" and it will be a very special memory for us and hope we will return "home" in the future.

Room Tip: We had a chance to take a look at all the rooms and each was special. We stayed in Hibicus and would choose it again.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawleys_Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

WOW – Mahalo for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are excited to know you had an amazing time. It gave us chicken skin (goose bumps) to read all your generous comments. It is guests like you that make our work fun and meaningful. Creating great memories is what we love to do. Thanks again and we hope to see you back “home” soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews