We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Property- Exceptional Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Property- Exceptional Service!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and enjoyed it very much! The staff is incredibly accommodating and the property is breathtaking. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plumeria suite, don't leave without at least looking into purchasing their amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristaandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Aloha Crista & Tom! Mahalo for your kind words. We’re thrilled to know that we provided you with a wonderful experience. Our incredible sheets are a big hit with our guests and we are glad you will enjoy them back home. We liked reading your review about Jackie Rey’s Ohana Grill and know the owners Angie and Paul will be happy with your compliments. Please come back “home” to Kona soon! Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
220
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Like many gushing reviewers note, Holualoa Inn is a unique property. In a recession climate, however, this inn might not be the best use of your travel dollars. This B&B seems to depend on tips - to this end, your bill at the end even includes your, ahem, "expected" contribution to the staff's salaries. Nothing illegal or immoral with this, but you should know this upfront, so that you are not surprised on the last day and blow your budget. Feel free to ignore the pressure to tip. Sorry to be such a Debby Downer, but one other issue about Holualoa Inn puzzles me. Why are so many of their reviews written by people with only 1-2 TOTAL reviews on TripAdvisor? Really? Personally, if I read a 5-star extravagant review and the author has ONLY written that review or 1 other, it makes me suspicious. Just saying.......
Happy trails to all, but get your money's worth!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Inn and the team of people who care for it. We are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to serve you recently. Regarding gratuities, many guests have asked us "what is your policy?" In an effort to assist guests, our departure folio reads: “While gratuities are not required, they are greatly appreciated…”

Many people rely on your experience and the experience of other travelers to help them determine where they will stay; therefore, reviews have become a vital part of planning a successful vacation. Words alone cannot express how thankful we are for the 100 + awesome reviews we have received over the years. I agree with you that our future guests should read other reviews from the contributor to gain a full perspective.

It is our sincere desire to provide our guests with an exceptional experience at Holualoa Inn. Mahalo for your contribution and best wishes from us all. Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Beyond the incredible house/property, views of Kona, outstanding breakfasts, beautiful pool and fabulous location --- the staff at the Holualoa Inn are the tops. After 5 nights, this B&B became our home away from home and the "staff" truly our new friends. They thought of everything -- from suggestions/maps of where to eat/visit to snorkeling and beach equipment to a flashlight for walking the grounds at night to a washer/dryer where we cleaned all our clothes before leaving! Go. Don't hesitate. Well worth the money and a far better way to experience Hawaii (compared to the resorts, in our opinion). Once you turn onto the driveway, it's over -- this place rocks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
To be “the BEST b&b we’ve ever stayed in!” makes us feel so proud. We are blessed with 30 acres of beauty, over 5,000 coffee trees, and all the wonderful amenities associated with the property. To know “this B&B became our home away from home and the “staff” truly our new friends” is the best compliment you could give us. We love our guests and strive to provide an incredible experience that creates amazing memories. Isn’t that driveway something magical? It makes us smile everyday we come to work! We look forward to you coming back “home” again and again! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband Ron & I travelled for the 1st time to Hawaii and stayed in several different B&Bs during our 2 week stay.
Our original plan was to spend 3 nights at the inn. We were so impressed that we extended our stay to 7 nights.
None of the other B & Bs we stayed at on the island could compare to the exceptional accomodations at the Holualoa Inn.
The Holualoa Inn far exceeded our expectations. Staff and accomodations met every need. The staff we met during our stay, Noe, Brian, Christine, Chris are all professionals. Each of them helpful, warm & gracious.
We would highly recommend to anyone travelling to the Big Island, Hawaii to plan to stay at the Holualoa Inn. I am sure they will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms/suites at the inn and each was excellent. Each room/suite is unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Aloha Sue and Ron! Mahalo nui loa for your kind words. We were thrilled for the opportunity to make Ron’s birthday trip something special. We feel honored you extended your 3 night stay to 7 nights because it gave us 4 more days to take care of you and get to know you more. To know that Holualoa Inn far exceeded your expectations is music to our ears. We are happy to know you found each of the rooms “unique, high quality and very comfortable in its furnishings and space.” We all miss you and hope you had a safe trip home. Please come back to your Kona “home” soon! Mahalo and Aloha, Noe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

If I were rich, this is the way and place I would want to live. Unfortunately, I was only able to pretend on my honeymoon (Sept 2011).

The property was gorgeous and the views spectacular! The Orchid room was the cheapest room but was still beautiful, clean and comfortable and we had a view of the ocean.

Breakfast in the morning was fantastic and filling, included fresh fruit from the grounds. Loved the snacks in the afternoon. We used the guest laundry (free) and the guest kitchen and both were great. The staff at the Holualoa Inn were friendly and went out of their way to make your stay great (the manager even offered me her yoga mat so I could practice).

I loved their gift certificate option online, which we placed on our Amazon wedding registry, and helped us with the cost.

Room Tip: Newlyweds use the Amazon Universal Gift to place the Holualola Inn on your wedding registry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWheeler629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
We are thrilled to know we helped make your honeymoon a very special memory. It sounds like Chef Brian’s delicious breakfasts and afternoon treats really hit the spot and made a lasting impression. It was my pleasure to provide you with my yoga mat so you could practice. Thank you for mentioning the online gift certificate option. It’s always nice to receive a gift that you can really enjoy! We hope you come back “home” soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent the first week of our honeymoon here in August. It sounds impossible but it actually surpassed our expectations and was better in reality than any review we have read. The whole place is superb and they have thought of absolutely everything to make people's stay perfect. The staff were also extremely helpful, especially when we wanted to book excursions and restaurants. A special mention to Brian and his amazing breakfasts which were the perfect starts to our days out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Mahalo for your kind words. To know we “surpassed your expectations” and your stay “was better in reality than any review we have read” makes us proud. Our goal is to exceed your expectations by anticipating your needs and offering superior service. Chef Brian loves to create magic each day with his incredible breakfasts. We hope to see you again on your 1st anniversary if not before! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have stayed here twice and there is a reason for the return visit. It's called perfection. From the moment of arrival, every detail is attended to. The staff is super sensitive to privacy and needs and anticipates what you will be asking for. e.g. My husband did not get papaya on his plate at breakfast because the chef had noted that he "doesn't care for it" from a previous visit. This inn is our "ace in the hole". We have traveled all over the world and this is where we will continue to return to.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
“It’s called perfection” and “this Inn is our ace in the hole” makes us smile with joy. We strive to make every guest’s stay an experience to remember. When guests return, we know we did our jobs well. Thank you so much for taking the time to offer such wonderful compliments. We look forward to your next visit “home” and promise to deliver the outstanding experience you deserve and have come to know. Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Property: Holualoa Inn
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa
Holualoa Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing