We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“really artisanal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Short & Sweet Bakery & Cafe

Short & Sweet Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Bakeries in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“really artisanal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

pride in making baked specialties and desserts really delicious and beautiful as well. Try the croissants.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    21
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Taken there by my son for Brunch; sandwiches were a little pricey but good. We had the Classic and the Roast Pork. They bake their own bread here, which makes the sandwiches extra special. A wide selection of own baked cakes - try the Banana roulade or a salted caramel cupcake.
We ate outside. Friendly service. Open for Brunch on Sundays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iwlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cakes and coffee to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We discovered this place by accident, but it was the best type of accident. on both visits the coffee was delicious, services was fast and excellent and the food was scrumptious. It is a little out of the way and you need to look for it, but well worth the find. A place not to miss

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nutella Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have eaten at Short and Sweet twice this week. I had really good soup and nutella pie (yum). Second time I had their excellent orzo salad and I bought a package of their home-made marshmallows, that come in a varoety of flavors. I have also tried their flourless Chocolate Cake, which is in the death by chocolate category, in a good way. Everything so far is good from this bakery cafe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
760 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here right after we landed with a group of four. We arrived around 2 pm so we had no problem finding parking or seating at one of the three tables inside. The service was friendly and the food was superb. We ordered focaccia sandwiches and yummy desserts. I had the grilled ham and cheese and the Hilo bar. Yum! What a great stop.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short & Sweet Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Short & Sweet Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing