We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
368
263
52
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
263
52
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadfresh fruitevery morninghotel catsmall kitchenthe big islandfull kitchenone bedroom apartmentcoqui frogsdowntown hilosmall hotelbanana treestropical gardenquiet streetfriendly hotelclose to downtownbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 705 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I arrived on the island at Kona Intl at night and drove our rental car right over to the Dolphin Bay and our late arrival was very gracefully accommodated. We awoke from a comfortable night sleep to find fresh papaya, bananas, lychees, banana bread, and coffee already out for guests. Though the hotel, so convenient to town but still having a jungle landscape feel, would also have suited a longer stay, our volcano and lava focused itinerary kept it to a single overnight. We knew, by our having noticed his name on other volcano related online information, that the proprietor, John Alexander, was very knowledgeable about the volcano. So before we left, we asked John if he could share any more than he had already during our pre-stay friendly correspondence. And so he did, and every one of his tips and suggestions proved to be right on. Thank you Dolphin Bay Hotel and thank you John. We will not hesitate to stay again if we find ourselves in Hilo again.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DedeDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017

Stayed in the one bedroom apartment. It was nice because the three kids got their own beds, and they were comfortable. If you stay here, the owner offers excellent travel advice (example: Kilauea is way cooler and sunset/night) and takes the time to explain things to see.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

There are not that many hotels in Hilo. Fortunately Dolphin Bay Hotel is a good choice.
Room (standard twin), was decent sized, with desk, small dining room table, regular-sized refrigerator (freezer on top) and sink and stove with pots, plates and utensils (sufficient equipment to prepare dinner). Not a fancy place, but has what you need. It is assumed that guests spend most of the day visiting the beautiful surroundings rather than hanging-out in the room (there is nothing to do at the hotel other than pick starfruit). Room was clean.
No air conditioner, but had ceiling fan. Originally was concerned that lack of air conditioner in a humid climate would mean difficulty sleeping at night, but with the windows open, and with the ceiling fan operating, the room was sufficiently cool (stayed here second week of September; might be a different story beginning of August).
Dolphin Bay Hotel is on a quiet street, so sleeping with windows open not a problem. The biggest issue with noise was the coqui frogs (they are loud).
Hotel is away from the sights in Hilo, but as Hilo is not big, it isn't much effort to drive to the sights.
Staff nice and helpful.
Coffee available downstairs at 5:30, banana bread available at 6:30. All-you-can-eat bananas (grown behind hotel), papaya and starfruit.You have to pick the starfruit by yourself, but that is part of the fun---where else can you pick your own starfruit---I consider this an "amenity" (they have a starfruit picking-pole next to the wall). After gorging myself on starfruit for breakfast, I went to the Hilo farmer's market where they tried to sell me starfruit for $2/lb.
Other than the noise from the coqui frogs, there are minor gripes such as traditional metal keys for the doors (electronic keys would have been safer), and no small bottles of shampoo (just had small bars of soap). This hotel has good benefit/cost ratio, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank vacationmanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Pros: John was a very helpful host, pointing out restaurants and sites to see. Beautiful garden to explore in the back. Convenient parking right next to the room. Free papayas, bananas, and banana bread. A short walk to downtown Hilo.

Cons: No AC (but the fans helped enormously), and be prepared to hear chirping Coqui frogs all night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

We needed a place in Hilo while touring the Big Island. I happened on Dolphin Bay....contacted John and he was very helpful regarding our activities, etc. Upon arrival his staff had several dining recommendations-all spot on. If you want a clean place, great fruit for breakfast and a friendly staff, this is it!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews