We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Funky and fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am a clean freak, and this place is SPOTLESS. True, the rooms are old, but they are well-appointed with everything you might need to make your stay comfortable: fans, microwave, fully-stocked kitchenette, desk, Wi-Fi, TV, several cushioned chairs, breakfast table with chairs, and 2 luggage racks. Someone placed fresh anthuriums in vases around the room. Near the office is a coffee pot with good coffee, some fresh fruit (papayas and bananas) for the taking, and a book sharing bookcase. The sound of the frogs is like white noise. This hotel is just delightful.

We found this place in Lonely Planet and paid the rate listed there. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenoritaViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    252
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
169
327
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Only stayed here for 3 nights because my purpose was to check out a grad school, not a vacation, per say. I chose Dolphin Bay because of the great reviews and reasonable price. I was not disappointed. It's located in a quiet, residential neighborhood, but only a 10min ride to Coconut Island, which was a great place to watch the sunrise, and go swimming. A supermarket was just a short ride, and lovely waterfalls an easy walk. On the grounds, there's a mini-rainforest garden. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Free coffee, bananas and banana bread every morning. We has a 1 bedroom in the annex across the street from the office. Very quiet-didn't think the frogs were noisy at all, but earplugs were provided, just in case. I was worried that there wasn't any air conditioning (I don't like the heat), but it wasn't a problem. There were 3 portable fans in the unit, which did a great job. The bed and 2 day beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked, with a microwave. The water pressure in the shower was AMAZING, and the temperature reliable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AREEN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petalima
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Old-timey motel , clean, quiet. Staff is friendly and made excellent recommendations for food (Café Pesto) and activities (Hilo Farmers Market). Garden outside has is fun to walk around. Frogs at night are loud and amusing. We slept through it fine. Walk in garden at night. Bananna bread in morning a hit with the kids. Our room had a kitchenette which might be good for a family. We were upstairs at the end away from office side. Its best.

Room Tip: Upstairs away from office side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twosaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is a real gem - from the clean rooms, the fully equipped kitchen, the great staff (banana bread anyone?), the dreamy rain shower and the small rain-forest with a wide assortment of flowers and Orchids.
We reserved the 1 bedroom apartment - so we had a bedroom with a queen size bed and a twin sofa bed, a living room with two twin sofa beds, large closets and drawer space, a fully equipped kitchen (stove, range, full fridge, microwave, dishes, etc.).
The place is so peaceful, filled with natural sounds. The frogs at night may be loud but that is the beauty of the place.
If you are looking for a resort type of accommodation (room service, pool, gym, amenities) you are on the wrong side of the island... There is no air condition in the room but the natural air, the ceiling fans and the portable fans do such a great job that you do not really need it. The beach is a short drive away - so much better than a chlorine pool...

Room Tip: the hotel does not have a elevator so consider getting the first floor rooms if you have issues with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin Bay May 8 - 10. This was our first time to Hawaii (and the USA).
Our check in (and out) was efficient and friendly. We were given a map with walking directions to dining choices as well as food shopping options (the room has a full kitchenette). I loved the world travel map - a great, personal touch.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of town for meals etc. The free coffee & banana bread was tops and saved us on our first day! Tip for those not used to brewed coffee stations - the coffee pots on top are on warming plates.
The sound of frogs didn't bother us, the room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean.
I couldn't have been happier with our stay - it was like a B&B and a perfect base for our exploration of the Volcano National Park. A pleasant and 'easy' intro to the Big Island!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, upstairs, facing the road - there's a vacant block across the road, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo2Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The location was on the edge of downtown Hilo but the view from the window was tropical paradise. It was a completely natural feel, exactly the kind we were looking for, and not a corporate resort. The room was clean and had everything we needed, all in good shape. The front desk staff assisted us each morning with our sightseeing plans. Our daily breakfast consisted of free papayas, small bananas, coffee, and banana bread. The papayas and bananas were always available and comprised a big part of our diet there. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Thank you to John and staff. Right from first contact we found everyone friendly and professional. We are a couple and adult daugher and partner. We have made the most of the BBQ
Area. Just love the garden environment especially the froggy sounds in the evening. Rooms are comfortable, clean and come with kitchens with variable kitchen crockery, tools etc. we had all we needed. Bed is good. Breakfast banana bread is delicious.

Room Tip: We had room at back of hotel, good views of garden, no air con but high ceilings, good fans and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubbopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Property: Dolphin Bay
Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing